Japan to England, Overland - Part 8: The Girl From Minsk


Advertisement
Belarus' flag
Europe » Belarus » Hrodna Voblast » Hrodna
November 3rd 2008
Published: November 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post



Come to Belarus!

Part of the axis of evil?

The Last Dictatorship in Europe??

The Only Surviving Remnant of the Soviet Union???"

"Where?"

Indeed, when I first heard that to reach Europe from Russia, I would have to get a transit visa through a country called Belarus, quickly I decided that A; Because I had never heard of the place, it would make more sense to divert north from Moscow to St Petersburg and come out by the Baltic sea, and explore Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania instead, countries which had at least, had something enough to put them on the map, and B: that because I was already paying out hundreds in Visa costs already, I might as well save myself the money and skip this country.

As it happened, after Russia, I felt something was, quite literally, calling me back, and I decided that I should return - but I couldn't legally go back to Russia - instead I choose the next best thing - and what lovely people I found there.

It all started in Moscow....






The Girl from Minsk




Additional photos below
Photos: 57, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

First night out in MinskFirst night out in Minsk
First night out in Minsk

Londoners, Moscovites and Minskovites
ValourValour
Valour

Brest Fortress
From left to RightFrom left to Right
From left to Right

Me, Pascha, Nastya, Sascha and Elyena.
State of Brest FortressState of Brest Fortress
State of Brest Fortress

The Fortress withheld the Nazis for an astounding month
The KGB HeadquartersThe KGB Headquarters
The KGB Headquarters

Yes, they still have the KGB.


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb