Belarus: Day 15 a final word


Advertisement
Belarus' flag
Europe » Belarus » Brest Voblast
August 25th 2018
Published: August 25th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Day 15:

I woke at 3am. Creeped past the kids and Yuliya sleeping. Carefully unlocked the door. Sneaked across the lawn, bent over and screamed at the top of my lungs” Get up you tw@t” into the dogs kennel. The dog yelped and ran backwards to the other side of the kennel hitting the wall. “See how you like it you bastard!” I then walked back to the house with a grin of satisfaction on my face.

Yuliya is awake by the time I get back and announces she is still drunk from her gin bonanza last night. We all sit down for a cup of coffee. We decide to drag the kids up this year and dress them rather than carry them in the car in their PJ’s. They dress bleary eyed but are excited to go home and see Stuart the cat.

Yuliya gives me the job of keeping her father awake for the 3 hour drive to the airport whilst she and the kids sleep in the back of the car… all heart my missus! We say goodbye to a very tearful Tania and I ignore Marina as she says goodbye. The kids settle with pillows and blankets in the back of the car. We drive out of the village in the dark of the night, I look in the general direction of the radar base and raise a middle finger salute. Next time my friends next time.

We drive through the night. I listen to podcasts and occasionally ask Victor if he is Ok. He is fine and occasionally points things out to me. The motorway is quiet and we pass a total of 100 vehicles in our 3 hour trip. The dawn is stunning. As the sun rises across the horizon it looks huge with the light refraction. I’ve never seen such a beautiful sunrise it’s a shame that the kids and Yuliya are catching flies in the back. We arrive at the airport with 2 hours until our plane leaves and we soon check our bags in. We have one final meal with Victor at the café and then say our goodbyes. We hurry directly to the plane and board.

As the plane runs down the runway I reflect on another amazing Belarusian adventure. Full of friends, old and new, and family. Never was a day without either fun or adventure. I proved that I was still inept as ever on the farm and will carry the scar as proof for life. My blood alcohol levels are now thankfully going to normal limits after the first weeks drinking extravaganza. It has been fun writing this blog and I hope that you have all enjoyed the read. Believe me all the stories were true and As always I try and see the funny side to everything which many have appreciated. I will try and blog again on my next adventure which will be a trip to Abu Dhabi in November. So again thanks for the great feedback. I shall now watch the end of the City game then the F1 qualifying, and then maybe raise a couple of shots of vodka to Belarus and you readers.

Until next time

До свидания

Steve xx



Advertisement



30th August 2018

на здоровье
Welcome to TravelBlog! I've enjoyed your holiday in Belarus - but in a somewhat more abstemious way than you did.

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 10; qc: 33; dbt: 0.1s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb