Cold, Rain and a Bloody Big Schnitzel!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
August 31st 2006
Published: August 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

So we have made it to Austria! Git ti say, despite my German being terrible its pretty exciting to be here. Our hostel is AWESOME (Wombats), super clean and the best comfy beds and hot showers and not too bad folks, though theyre all Aussies.

We have wandered our way round the Innere Stadt, the Hofburg was pretty huge and very impressive. I would love to be able to have seen it back in the day when they had balls and arrived in the horse drawn carriages we see everywhere.

The Kunsthistorichesmuseum was our museum of choice and it did not dissapoint - lots of painting, an awesome scultpure exhibit and a very impressive Egyptian section which got me all excited and made me wish that I was going to Egypt in January like Tash and her Mum are. It was huge and even the building itself was impressive, big grand staircase and ceiling frescoes. All very civilised.

The Naschmarkt was one of the best we have seen in terms of quality. Corb held me back but I managed to convince to buy a punnet of berries for the train tomorrow, cant wait.

Had a Wiener Schnitzel for lunch tody - it was as big as my head! Pretty tasty though I have to be loyal and say I think I prefer my dad's schnitzel.

The weather has been cold and rainy which hasnt been too much fun, and Ive been a bit low with a sore throat so we didnt make it out to the Wine area - but I figure we'd better save something for next time!

It's been a great intro to Austria and my German is starting to come back. TOmorrow we leave for 2 weeks in the Czech Republic which will be awesome, but I must admit I am counting down til we meet up with the family in Southern Austria.

But for now, I must find Corb and go in search of Strudel!

Advertisement



1st September 2006

Know wombats well!!
I stayed at Wombats when I first got to Austria as well, pretty cool hostel. Have a great time in the Czech republic, I found it really cheap and fantastic beer. Beer in Slovakian is "pivo". Love you heaps Kyla

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb