Vacation in Vienna


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
August 15th 2009
Published: August 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After TASIS I moved on to Vienna. At the airport my only choice was to rent a manual car. Not a problem, I can drive manual ... but on the Autobahn and up in the Alps, I was a bit distressed. We managed to get to the Imperial Riding School in Venice ... an amazing hotel with a bed like a cloud! We went around the city and saw it's many palaces and beautiful buildings. As I speak zero German, this became quite an interesting event. I only realized that I ate veal for dinner (and I despise veal ... or at least thought I did) the next evening when I found an English speaking person to translate. We had dinner outside in a huge thunderstorm, returned to our hotel and went for a midnight swim.

The next morning took us to Belvedere Palace - built by Prince Eugene (means nothing to me really) and used for entertainment purposes.We then headed over to Schonbrunn Palace ... the most amazing palace I have ever seen! Emperor Leopold I (again, means nothing other than that he ruled the Austro-Hungarian Empire) built this palace as a summer cottage! Amazing, that someone would call this place a "cottage."

After we left Vienna we headed over to Salzburg and the Sound of Music!


Additional photos below
Photos: 68, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb