The hills are alive with the sound of music


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
October 30th 2007
Published: October 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ok, maybe not the hills, but most certainly the streets of Vienna! Eclectic assortment of music from Mozart, to violins and accordions echo throughout the streets here in Vienna. I spent most of my day in the central zones; 1 through 9. Vienna is broken into zones or districts for just about everything.

This morning, I missed my wake-up call (not my fault) and I made sure the hotel realized I wasn’t happy (I know how to play the game - I use to work for Marriott)! It sure will be nice having free breakfast the rest of my stay here in Vienna! After a nice, free breakfast I took the underground (Subway). I would say that the underground here is the nicest I have been on. It is very user friendly, not expensive and I was amazed at how clean it was! My first stop was Karlsplatza (pretty much central of everything) and a walk to a few churches and cathedrals. From here, I would be remise to visit Vienna and not, at a minimum, indulge in one local museum; after all Vienna is know for their museums. I made a stop at the Albertina Museum, one of the more famous in Vienna. Here on display were the works of Monet and Picasso. Picasso, what a strange guy! Anyhow, it was neat because there were several paintings I have seen in books and at school, but there is nothing like seeing the real deal up close and in person!

The architecture here is amazing and I think that is my favorite part of Austria is the buildings, roadways and parks. I walked through a couple of the major parks that are part of the city set-up, including Standt Park, Burggarten Park and Rathaus Park. The great thing about the parks is they are all a short trot by one of the many horse drawn carriages in based at each park. There are more carriages that taxi drivers (of course the carriages are as callous as taxi drivers).

There are two main themes in Vienna, one of course is Mozart, he and his resemblance can be found just about anywhere. The second is the slogan, “No Kangaroos in Austria!” I had to laugh and when I asked about the shirts, which can be found EVERWHERE, the lady told me I would be surprised at how many people ask where they can find the Kangaroos! I had a good chuckle over that one!

I made my way to the parliament-building zone 8. I can’t get over how clean and friendly everyone is. In fact, everyone is friendly and they are even more friendly when they find out you are American and even more so when they find out you are from California and your Governor is the Terminator! Yes, a few people have seen my driver’s license and have made a comment!

I close my day today with a walk through a local market. Here I haggled a bit on prices, and took in all the sites, smells and sounds of Vienna (most were pleasant, some were God awful)! I even bought more crap, and I don’t know how the hell I am going to get it all home! I mean, I had to hide my backpack in a locker at the airport in Moscow, and then smuggle it onboard so I wouldn’t have to pay 50 Euros for the extra weight. I can’t keep on doing that; I will eventually get caught! Hahaha! I will think of something!

Oh yea, and I already got the lecture for not posting enough while in Russia. It seems as though my parental units were a tad nervous - thought maybe I had been kidnapped!?! Ok, OK, yea Russia was a dodgy place not to at least post and say all was well. Sorry! Love ya all! Cheers!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Olives and wine Olives and wine
Olives and wine

Olives and wine are everywhere here in Vienna. Austria has a very large wine region in Europe!


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb