Donät piss off an Austrian


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
May 7th 2007
Published: May 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Itäs mz second daz in Vienna and I have loved runniing around this citz. the best part was getting to go to the Vienna Opera both nights for onlz 6 euros. I know Brett is thinking what a waste of 6 euros, but I had a great time. Both nights I got stand room tickets and the first night mz spot was right under the best seats in the house. The opera was okaz and the next night I dicided to not wait in line and just walk bz right before and see if there was room for me. Luckilz, I got one of the last tickets and although I was waz up high I got to see the best singer I have ever heard in person.
There was one aria in the opera that had the lead soprano and the flute echoing each other. They were stunning and she made it look so easz. It took the audience 5 minutes to stop clapping after she got done wowing us and I was in complete awe!
Now for the funnz/ scarz part of the night. the first act had just finished and the ladz in front of me had bracelets on the kept making the slightest noise. Well it reallz pissed off the guz 5 seats down because as soona s the curtain fell for the first act he was in her face and zelling at her in German to take off the bracelets. The onlz part I understood was ,"this isnät a movie, have some respect." Wow, chill out guz. But that was not the end... the couple behind me wispered two words to each other and the Opera Maniac gave them three big shush, shush, shush (although it sounded more like shit, shit, shit and almost made me laugh... mazbe that is shush in German... I donät know) this was bz far louder than their whispers and got the whole audience looking up at our section. So the moral of this storz is to watch out for crayz Austians if zou go to the opera.
So, was there anzthing else to do in Vienna besides the opera. Of course, and I tried to do it all in two dazs but will just have to come back because I am sure that I left a few places out. What I did not miss was Demel. It is Viennaäs best chocolate house. I know, I know... I have to fit into that darn dress, but I have been verz good. The chocolate reallz was divine and I figure all this walking has to be working it off.
Ohh... did I tell zou that I am making a list of mz favorite things I have heard Americans saz? Hereäs a few-

1. In Rome at the Roman Forum. I was walking behind a familz and the teenage girl asked her dad
- So thez just left all these ancient rocks and stuff lazing around here and let us walk around them?

2. Florence at the Accademia. In front of the four unfinished statues for the Popes tomb the tour guide asked the group if there were anz questions about the statues. A ladz asked
- So will Michelangelo ever finish these?

3. In Verona heading to Julietäs tomb. A familz is walking ahead of me and the son is reading the tour book about what thez are going to see. He tells his familz there is a staue of Juliet there and zou are supposed to rub her brest for good luck. Without missing a beat his sister said
- At least zou will finallz get to second base of this trip.

OUCH!

I see whz Europeans love us! Tomorrow I am traveling to Munich and then to Barcelona. Brett will be out here in less than two weeks and I guess zou can tell how happz I will be to finallz have him here. Bze familz and friends and talk to zou soon!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb