Touring with the Two Gallants


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
December 11th 2006
Published: December 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I ended up renting a car and driving from Ljubljana to Vienna to meet the Two Gallants and catch their show in Vienna. Tyson and I had talked about me coming with them on their tourbus for a few nights but we never exactly worked out the details. Well like and idiot I got a return rental car to Vienna and found myself deciding to hop on the bus at the last minute to head to Frankfurt. Now of course to change a return rental to a one way car rental was going to cost me 250 euros, so I found the next best thing which was an underground parking garage that in german seemed to say 4 euros per hour. This was going to be totally expensive but certainly cheaper than switching the car rental agreement. I also assumed that it would be less expensive for a full 24 hours (and it was in the end).

The show was at this club called Flex which is on the river but underground and difficult to find if you don't know what you are looking for. The Two Gallants were touring with the Eric Bachman Band which I really enjoyed. After the show we got on the bus and then at 3 we rolled out towards Frankfurt. After a few hours of drinking I got into a bunk and woke up at 11 to extend my car rental. A few more hours of sleep and when I woke up we were in Frankfurt. After soundcheck we made some drinks and had some dinner. The Schnitzel Weiner Art was a little heavy, but the show was fun. The bus stayed in the lot after the show until 8 or 9 am. At 7 I took a cab from the bus to the Frankfurt main trainstation and got onboard in a first class cabin. Since it was a day train there were no sleeping bunks which made the ride painful. Although after about 2 hours the cabin was empty and I stretched out and slept for the final 6 hours of the ride. When I got in I took the underground back to the car park, paid a painful 80 euros for parking and then got on the autobahn A2 heading back to Ljubljana.



Advertisement



16th December 2006

Finally I have time to read your blog! What an interesting time you are having. But, Behaave yourself

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb