Austria!!!!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Tyrol » Sankt Johann in Tirol
July 22nd 2009
Published: July 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday 14th July 2009 Sarah’s birthday

I am awake yet again from about 6am, it’s hot even though we have had the airconditioner running all night - this has been one of the few places WITH aircon!!!

Got to bed about 11.30 last night after cashing up the camp card and having a shower. YAY up and into CLEAN CLOTHES TODAY!!! Never take this for granted people!!! I have missed my tan skirt which I hadn’t worn since Greece when I spilled tomato and god knows what else all down the front of it!!! Lol!!!!

Breakfast is at 7.30 and it was GREAT!!!! Cornflakes, muesli, yoghurt, banana, strawberries, mixed berries and milk after a slice of orange!! YUM!! The best breakfast so far!!!

We get on the bus and move off around 8.07 am - the day is hazy in the distance…

This morning a few people on the bus are still drunk, Brooke had to knock on doors to get people to the bus… and today we got our trip t-shirts/hoodies which we ordered a few days ago!! YAY!! More clothes to wear!!

Today we are on our way to Tirol, Austria and on the way we make a stop and drop off about a third of our bus group to go whitewater rafting… I don’t go.. apparently it’s really really tame. While we are there a Contiki bus turns up to do the same thing. The rest of us load back onto the bus after taking photos of our comrades in wetsuits, and head to the finish line to grab something to eat and drink and play volleyball… yummy another ice cream for me!!! ☺

When we cross the border into Austria you can tell, the houses are different and the same as Switzerland with the roofs, and window boxes with flowers!! It looks fabulous!!

Today we stop for a picnic lunch which was packed on board, our new comers haven’t experienced this before!! ☺

In the afternoon there is a trivia competition and Joy and I are tied with Ash and Sarah - we have to rock, paper and scissors it off and we win!!! YAY I get a free drink and Joy gets nothing as they have run out of drink!!! Hopeless!!!

When we arrive in Austria we meet in the bar for an information session on the different optional tours you can do - I have put my name down for PARAGLIDING!!!! I know the canyoning is supposed to be great but I reckon it would also be COLD!!!!

We have a bbq tonight followed by a quick walk around the little town of Kirchdorf. There is a local concert happening and the church is closed but it’s a really cute little area….

Wednesday 15th July 2009 Jason & Amanda’s Birthday

I get up this morning not feeling too flash and have some pills after breakfast, weather isn’t looking so good either, no sun and looks like rain is on the way. The first group of paragliders are booked at 8.45 and I am at 9.45 but it is postponed until 11am…

We walk around the town again but looking in the shops and chatting, and yay at 11 we are off!! We all go to the drop off point and the first group head off while the rest of us go have a hot chocolate at a local café next to the hill tobaggan ride. We watch and take photos of the others as they come in…

Then we go up next and once we get to the top of the gondola ride it starts raining as we get ready, so we head into the restaurant and wait it out, it doesn’t look promising!!!

Steph and I have chips and in hindsight it probably wasn’t a good idea, as the weather clears and we can GO!! The toilets have a beer tap fixture for washing your hands!!!

Anyway, great fantastic views paragliding and I get a memory chip with photos and a quick video!!! After this we do acrobatics and OH MY GOD the G-force is HUGE!!!! Only, I don’t feel so good afterwards… I manage not to be sick though - although one of the other girls IS…..

We head back to the hostel to recover…. Not feeling so good now…….

Tonight we have Meal up the Mountain which is really yum and I am SO GLAD that I recover to have this - the Pancake Soup and Apple Strudel is DELICIOUS!!!!! Alas the bus ride back down the mountain is NOT good and I feel nauseous once again!!! Lol……

Austria is BEAUTIFUL - would be really great to come back here again in winter!!! One day!!!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb