No Osterreiches Seen.


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Tyrol » Innsbruck
August 22nd 2006
Published: August 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Nor Vienna or Salzburg. Halfway though my European Tour, I’m starting to realize my budget tour, does not take in many major cities in many of the countries to be visited. For example, Austria will cover Innsbruck, but not Vienna or Salzburg, Italy to cover Verona and Venice, but not Rome, Florence, Milan and Pisa and Switzerland to cover Lucerne, but not Geneva and Zurich. At least Paris will be covered in France, though.

Being from an island in the middle of the Pacific, I sort of assume, being in a country would automatically cover all major cities, not taking into account, it takes more than a couple of hours to get from one city to another, like it would on an island. Well, I really have no one to blame but myself for not studying my Geography more closely to determine how far the cities within a country are from each and how much time it would take to travel between them.

Seriously, from what I’ve already seen, I can honestly say what I’ve witness so far has far exceeded my expectations. The natural sceneries have been beautiful, rivaling our own beautiful Hawaiian natural wonders. To top of it all, they have buildings rich in history and beauty beyond my imagination.

Like Germany, the Austrians take pride in keeping their countryside and cities kempt and proper. Innsbrucks is a small yet beautiful little town, and for the first time we get to stay in a hotel, within the main town, instead of an obscure town several miles away. However, there was not much in the way of nightlife, from what we saw. We heard the well-known Folkoric Show had just ended for their break, which was a bit unfortunate, as I’ve seen clips of it and it seems like lots of fun.

Of course being able to see Vienna, city of great music and Waltzes, would have been a big plus, but no sense crying over spilt milk. Thankfully for Travelblog, I get to see what I miss by reading and viewing photos of others, and reading the accounts of those, who have been there.

This account and photos are from a trip taken several years back, which explains the snow, in some of them.



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 85; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb