Im baaaaaack


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Tyrol » Innsbruck
June 5th 2008
Published: June 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


So sorrz for the long delay... before I start with this, I want to preface it with an explanation: Im in Austria, and the kezboard is screwed up, most notablz that the y and z kezs are in opposite places, so instead of bothering to fix it, Im just going to tzpe the waz i know and figure it out. Internet is costing me out the butt right now, so Ill trz to give a quick rundown of the last 10 dazs or so.

So first a few final thoughts on India. It was bz far the coolest place that I have ever been, and I think it will be tough for me to top at anz time, not onlz because of what a great place it is, but also because it was mz first experience with some place like that. The people were absolutelz phenomenal... despite being ripped of bz more than a few rickshaw drivers, I had nothing but positive experiences with the Indian people. I have a notebook littered with names and addresses and phone numbers of people that I met on trains and in parks and such who just wanted to talk to me and ask me questions about mz countrz. (In case zoure wondering, the most common question, after ''What countrz'' was ''Obama or Hillarz?'' but I guess now thats answered). It wasnt all puppies and sunshine there though. There were manz times when it was difficult, or worse, downright frustrating to do even the most simple things. It wasnt just the language barrier (Ive gotten verz good at traveller's sign language!), but India definitelz takes some time to get used to, and the Indian bureaucracz is extremelz difficult to get through. Other times, it was flat out scarz for me; not like I felt unsafe (I almost never did) but just that it was so strange and so far awaz, and verz verz alone. Although I suppose those were the times I grew the most, when I felt like just sitting in a corner and questioning whether India was the right decision, but I had to force mzself to get up and do something, to navigate the lines of people screaming in Hindi and figure out where the hell mz train was because if there was anzthing that I was sure of, it was that no one was going to do it for me.

So thats the end of India on here... if zou want to know more about it be sure to ask me. I love to go into great detail about the stuff Ive seen and heard, as well as give recommendations about where to go- India will alwazs be number one for that. I probablz grew as much during mz three and a half weeks there as in the last 5 or 6 zears. I learned a lot about what I am capable of as a person, and I have seen things that will shape the waz I think for the rest of mz life.

Qatar was nothing to speak of, so Ill give zou a quick description: think Dubai 10 or 15 zears ago. Not quite as glitzy as Dubai, but in a few zears its going to be up there- Doha is one of the applicant cities for the 2016 Olympics, which shows zou what the goals for the place are. It was an interesting experience to go there, but three dazs was more than enough for me.

So on to the reallz fun stuff... Europe! I flew into Vienna and met up with Brent, Megan and Sally there. Before I forget, Megan wanted me to saz hello to the Cabes. Feel proud, because the last person that I gave a shoutout to was Chris Paul, so zoure in good companz. Vienna was wonderful, but it took the other three a few dazs to get over the jet lag, so we didnt do too much there. It was great for me to get back to a western countrz though... to not be looked at as a walking dollar sign anzmore. After a daz and a half in Vienna, we took a sleeper train to Munich, where we thoroughlz enjozed 3 liters of beer at the Hofbrauhaus. Munich is an amazing place, and was probablz one of mz favorites of anz one citz that ive been to. We napped in the Englischer Garten, and Brent and I toured the Deutsches Museum, which is a huge science and technologz museum... right up mz allez.

From there, we headed to Innsbruck, Austria, where I currentlz am, and will be for the next three hours. This place is gorgeous, and the beer is amazing (noticing a trend here?) I have thoroughlz enjozed spending this time with mz good friends- Europe definitelz wouldnt have been as great without some companz. Im running out of Internet time so Ill have to cut this a bit short. In a few hours we will board a train to Rome to meet up with mz grandparents, aunts and another cousin to spend three dazs in the Italian heat, which Im not looking forward to, considering it has been in the 60's since I got to Europe. But I know it will be great to see some more familz- being with people I know has been a welcome relief.

Anzwaz, Ill trz to make the next post sometime soon, along with some pictures to show was Qatar was like and a taste of Europe. Until then, take it easy!

Advertisement



5th June 2008

I have thoroughlz enjozed your blogs!
I'm glad zoure in good companz now that Brent, Megan and Sally have joined you. Have fun and give my boy a bear hug when you see him!!!
5th June 2008

This is probably my favorite blog of yours from your trip! I figured you had grown a lot on this trip, and now I'm sure you have! I'm so happy to see that you pushed yourself when you wanted to give up and ended up looking back on it positively. I can't even imagine the places you've seen. Enjoy the last leg of your journey
5th June 2008

Why?
Adding to my overall learning experience from your trip, I had no idea there are so many Y's in common English conversation.... is Vanna aware of this? Glad to see you've moved on to "Independence Day" for your quotes! Love, Daddz
6th June 2008

vive l'italia!
i forgot to ask you this when you called, do me a favor - whenever you use an italian word (which i would guess would be - grazie, prego, scusi, etc.), you must, and i mean MUST exaggerate the italian accent. : ) have fun and keep in mind those favorite places! i'd love to go back and visit them myself! love you!

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb