The perfect world of the Austrian Tyrol


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Tyrol » Hopfgarten in Defereggen
September 10th 2011
Published: January 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

2 nights in Hopfgarten, in the Austrian Tyrol, this was the adventure stay.

First night there we had the themed party night, the theme was Ken & Barbie. I went as divorced Ken, or Bogan Ken, depending on how you looked at it but only cos it was easy. Had a battle of the sexes which was a hell of a lot of fun, with trivil and pole dancing competitions and probably the biggest highlight was the sex positions contest. You had to demonstrate the most sex positions you could in 90 seconds. And well it just so happened that the guys team had selected arguably the most outgoing guy and also the smallest nerdy guy on tour to do this competition. When the time started Nick threw this guys around the floor like he was a rag doll, it seriously looked like he was being violated in every conceivable way, in fact the judges even said “well I’m not sure whether or not we just whitnessed a rape but you scored ..” ha ha ha ha everyone was in stitches.

On top of this someone had to demonstrate the bar’s unique shots, so they chose our tour manager Alex, who stood there as they free poured various spirits straight down his throat. He was doing really well after about 7 or 8 until he got to Obstler then it all came rushing back up again. After a few loud noises out the back, he walked back to the bar and one of the boy’s handed him a glass of water. Which wasn’t water at all. And after downing a full glass of Obstler he bolted back out the back and proceeded to half fill a garbage bin ha ha ha it really was a bit rough even if it was hilarious ha ha.

So yeah the night went on and I drank way too many shots and didn’t get to bed till around 4:30am.

The next morning was the mountain biking. I nearly pulled out because I really can’t ride a bike and I was still sooo tired from the night before. Glad I didn’t because it really was incredible, the scenery was spectacular, and the ride wasn’t that hard, a good sobering activity really. Then it was the paragliding which was obviously awesome.<span> Then we had a crack at Zorbing which looked pretty lame compared with the one in NZ (so I’m told), but I had a crack and it really was excellent fun, you just can’t stop laughing, it’s weird. Definitely worth 11 Euro.

That night was a night down the club, but I bailed in favour of a quiet night and a good solid 10 hours sleep. And yes it felt awesome :-D.

That next day on the way out of Austria we went white water rafting. The water was really tame due to falling river levels but as it was a first for me I loved it.

At the time of writing this I was sitting on the bus watching the incredible scenery roll by. Hopfgarten, and the Austrian Tyrol in general is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen in my whole life, everywhere you look it’s just postcard perfect. I also saw some pictures of the area in winter and the place looks equally picturesque; just heavenly all year round. I just have to come back here, maybe spend a winter some time who knows.



Key words for Austria:

“The Plan”

Human Contiki



Oh and I learnt this really cool pub game that I think I’m gunna take home. You have a massive log on its end and a hammer with a blade on one end. Then you have to try and hit the nail in with the blade end. Each player gets one swing then passes it on and the first to sink the nail wins, and the last usually buys the round :-) ; really good game to sit and play while drinking and spinning a few yarns.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb