Salzburg


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Salzburg » Salzburg
June 11th 2006
Published: June 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Chilling at the castle restaurantChilling at the castle restaurantChilling at the castle restaurant

Ridiculous views of the mountains from the Salzburg castle

Salzburg



Originally I was planning on spending two nights in Salzburg, but when I realized how quaint the city was, I decided to stay Vienna for Saturday night. While it may not have been the best place to party, I absolutely recommend visiting if you are ever in the area.

The town is famous for being the birthplace of Mozart and it's ties to classical music, but what I found most alluring was the breathtaking backdrop of the mountains just off in the distance. Perched high above the old town, a castle overlooks the valley and the city below. There is a restaurant on one of the terraces of the fortress that has amazing views. As I sat there drinking a beer at sunset, I realized that that moment alone made the stop in Salzburg worth it.

Following my trip up to the castle, I had dinner in a restaurant in St. Peter's square called Stiftskeller, which has been around since 803 AD. At over one thousand two hundered years old, it is the oldest restaurant in Europe. I ate outdoors in the inner courtyard, with vaulted ceilings in the corner and candles lighting the area. It's a shame that I didn't have anyone with me to enjoy the atmosphere. The food was solid as well. Definitely worth a visit.

One my way home, I got my first taste of large public viewings of World Cup matches. There was a huge screen, bordered by sponsor logos, in the back of the main town square. All different kinds of food and beverage vendors lined the perimeter, and a small stadium seating set up had been installed. Closer to the screen, picnic benches covered what was left of the square. The atmosphere was festive...but a completely different world from what I would find at the equivalent FanFests in the German World Cup venues.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb