Dining


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Carinthia » Villach
May 31st 2012
Published: May 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Above the front door is a life sized beer tap handle. It has to be good.<span><span><span> As I cross the threshold of Wirtshaus Josef I step into another time.<span> Almost.<span> The interior is polished wood and old brick.<span> The modern constructed on top of the aged.<span> It is immediately apparent that the building is old and retains much of its original state.<span> It smells faintly of smoke, overridden by the more dominant smells of beer and slow roasted meat.<span> There is a quiet ambiance of German conversation backed by even quieter American music.<span> The pale yellow lighting granting stark contrast to the dark wood and faded brick. The booths are wood, coated in resin, and built into brick alcoves.<span> The table is large, a single piece of similarly fashioned wood.<span> There is little space between the table and bench, making sliding in a bit tricky.<span> I settle into a cushion between Andre and Gernot and across from Piotr. The silverware and napkins rest communally in large tin buckets.<span> The brick wall across from me has a rectangular space carved out, granting view into the neighboring alcove and creating a mutable border between privacy and community.<span> The menu is wood bound, its pages thick and glossy.<span> It’s printed in the local dialect, making it’s translation that much more difficult.<span> I’m able to recognize many of the same roots however and can decipher enough to get me by.<span>Besides, if I get stuck, the other five people here can all read it just fine.

The waiter wants drink orders.<span> He starts with the obviously German members of our party.<span> I flip to the back pages, see recognizable beer logos, begin scanning. I see a Dunkel, brewed by the establishment.<span> Perfect.<span> I’ll have one of those.<span> He doesn’t ask which size.<span> I assume he’ll bring me a big one.<span> I’m fine with that.<span> A few minutes later the beers arrive.<span> “Prost!” I forget to make eye contact with Andre.<span> Everyone laughs.<span> They ask me if I’m aware of the horror which I have just brought down on myself.<span> I assume they borrowed a page from the French book and reply, “Seven years of bad sex.”<span> Andre chuckles and nods.<span> Yeah, right.

Unfazed, I return my attention back to the menu.<span> Andre apparently ate here the previous evening and was thoroughly impressed by the soup.<span> Saure Supp’m.<span> I order it.<span> By this time the head of my beer has settled and I take my first sip.<span> Better than most of the stuff I’ve had so far, but still bland and simple compared to good American beer.<span> I’m beginning to get despondent that the beer here won’t improve much.<span> The soup arrives.<span> It’s off white, cream based, very similar to a chowder. <span> I stir it.<span> At the bottom rest bits of meat and dough stuffed with…something.<span> Not even Andre knows.<span> Irrelevant really.<span> It’s delicious.<span> Dinner is a long time in arriving.<span> It gives me plenty of time to savor my soup and sip my beer.

I notice the waiter returning with plates.<span> My mouth waters in anticipation.<span> I ordered Cordon Bleu.<span> Chicken, pounded and rolled around ham and melted mozzarella cheese, then battered and fried.<span> Served with French fries.<span> And ketchup.<span> What the hell?<span> This is Europe.<span> I don’t even eat ketchup in America.<span> (sigh) Might as well.<span> Dinner is good, but I have to say, their breading leaves much to be desired.<span> The interior is delicious however.<span> A+.<span> My fresh beer arrives.<span> I’m going to need it to wash down all this starch.<span> The pile of fries is a mile high.

The conversation ranges far and wide and is, largely, unmemorable.<span> After 2 hours of eating, drinking, and talking it’s time to depart.<span> Gernot graciously picks up the tab for his esteemed colleagues (and me) and we make our way home.<span> Piling into Gernot’s car, he returns us to Andre and Piotr’s accomodations where we all met.<span> Farewells all around.<span> 10:30 p.m.<span> Suddenly, I’m standing alone under a single, faint, pale light.<span> I hope this bike I borrowed has a light.<span> Quick inspection.<span> It does! Success.<span> Now how does it work?<span> Another quick inspection.<span> Ingenious.<span> It’s mechanism locks against the wheel, using the revolutions to generate a current and power the light.<span> Very self sufficient.<span> I make my way home, retracing my steps and following my mental map.

The road dips down the hill and passes by the edge of Magdalener See.<span> The air is dead and the lake is glassy smooth, quietly reflecting the occasional yellow window light from its inky blackness. Picturesque.<span> I climb the hill, winding under the train tracks and back to the edge of town.<span> A short trip down a rustic street and I’m back at the university.<span> Behind the university is a bike path that runs along the river.<span> It’s dark.<span> Very dark.<span> Visibility is 10 meters straight ahead.<span> The trees along the river block any potential light from the moon.<span> It’s like riding into a wall of pitch only to find the road keeps going and the wall keeps moving back.<span> Taking your eyes off the path is dangerous because it twists and you don’t have enough time to correct.<span> So you keep your focus straight ahead and rely on your peripheral.<span> Up ahead, the bridge. Lit up like a carnival, lights reflecting off the Drau.<span> Visibility increases as civilization springs up.<span> My pace slows, as I navigate the sharp turns that take me over the tributary and then across to the other side of the Drau.

As I cross the bridge, I descend once again into darkness.<span> The gibbous moon floats, suspended in a patchy sky, dancing behind dark clouds.<span> Ahead in the distance, over the mountains to the west, lightning flashes, momentarily illuminating the murky night. I begin to race against the rain.<span> To my right, the river, bordered by a wall of tall trees.<span> The occasional street light on the opposing bank visible through the palisade reflecting off the river’s black, glassy surface.<span> To my left, a wide open field of waist high grass extending in all directions.<span> Straight ahead, a path, continuously disintegrating into the inky darkness.<span> The night is dead.<span> No noise except for the quiet whirring of my light’s generator, rubbing against the tire walls.<span> The light, trying valiantly to beat away the darkness.<span> Failing.<span> The pedals churning, trying to eat the distance. From the darkness to my left a large building springs up.<span> A barn.<span> Sheds adjoining, all in need of repair.<span> Black interiors.<span> Firewood stacked behind a failing fence along the path.<span> As quickly as it came, it descends into open fields, populated by the occasional tree.<span> The path stretches on.

Ahead, a single light comes into view, suspended above the surface.<span> A street light.<span> Its brother and sister emerge from the inky gloom, a trio of beacons to light the way.<span> The path branches up, and from the dappled sky, shrouded in shadow directly overhead, the moon watches.<span> Quiet.<span> Around the bend, the twin spires of the church emerge, lit as if afire to hold the dark at bay.<span> The bells peal.<span> Lightning flashes again.<span> This is where the ghosts and monsters strike.<span> The edge of darkness.<span> Just as you begin to think you are safe.

Fortunately, no such things exist and I climb the ramp, leaving behind the river and entering into the city.<span> Ghosts and monsters are replaced by erratic drivers and lonely wanderers.<span> Perhaps slightly more dangerous, though much less imaginative.<span> I navigate home by landmarks.<span> The street names are unpronounceable and unmemorable.<span> Uneventful.

<span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span><span>


It seems I beat the rain.



Word of the Blog: Fleisch.

It means meat (or flesh).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb