Anwhere.....? Andorra


Advertisement
Andorra's flag
Europe » Andorra » La Vella
July 21st 2014
Published: July 22nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

AndorraAndorraAndorra

Cheap alcohol, approx $19AUD
10/07/13 - 12/07/13

So after a hectic week in Pamplona, I decided to spend the next few days of my trip relaxing in Andorra. Andorra is a small land locked country on the border between Spain and France. With no airport and no train service the only way in was by bus. The whole nation is only 468km2 with a mix of four languages all commonly spoken, it was looking to be a small challenge.

So from the beginning I awoke in my hostel in Barcelona, still unsure of my movements to get to Andorra. Ant and I made our way downstairs to use the wifi to work out our next moves. It was surprisingly not hard to find a bus to Andorra so with that booked I bid farewell to another new friend as he had decided to stay on in Barcelona for a couple more days. I made my way back upstairs and got my things, checked out and made my way to the Plaça de Catalunya, the main square at the top end of Barcelonas famous La Rambla strip. Standing there waiting for my bus to the airport I really wondered to myself why I was
AndorraAndorraAndorra

Snow in the Pyrenees
leaving this city so quickly within 12 hours of arriving. It seemed like a place I could spend weeks and not get bored, but I had my plans and I stuck to them as this wasn't to be the last I was going to see of this great city. So I got on my bus and headed to the airport where I would board a connecting bus to take me through the Pyrenees Mountains into the 6th smallest nation in Europe.

So up through the mountains we wound our way, the scenery was amazing, however after a week in a tent amongst one of the biggest parties in Europe, I was spent and I woke to discover myself at the checkpoint into Andorra, the first of which I had found myself at in Europe so I was unsure of what to expect. But I soon realised there wasn't to be many hassles in moving between most countries in Europe as the bus driver got out, handed the man some paperwork which he flicked through and we were on our way again. Being such a small place it wasn't long before I was off the bus, trying again to find my accommodation After not very long I had found my hotel, yes hotel, after a week in a tent I went all out in a four star hotel which cost me around $40AUD a night. Andorra is a tax haven so things were cheap, dirt cheap. But being a backpacker having to carry anything I bought around on my back I decided against the 4.5L bottle of Absolut Vodka for €39.

The next few days would prove to be rather uneventful as a few days of quiet relaxation were in order after the chaos of San Fermin. And being a haven for snow sports, the middle of summer left activities hard to come by, but honestly I wasn't too phased. I spent my days just wandering the streets of Andorra la Vella just taking it in and admiring the secret of the mountains that surrounded the capital. I even saw snow off in the distance atop a mountain, the first time I had ever seen it, all be it too far away to go and play in. I spent my time wandering the shops, admiring all the cheap stuff I couldn't buy as I didn't have the will to carry too much extra with me, I did however buy a new watch as mine had shit itself the morning I left Barcelona.

The morning of the 12th arrived and it was time to make my way back to London and it would be the first time I set foot in three different countries on the same day. So I made my way back down the street to the bus station and waited for a bus to return me to the airport in Barcelona, where I'd chance my arm at a seat on a flight to London.

The rest of this day proved to be kind of eventful, but that's where I leave off on this post and will pick it up again in my next post as I land back in London and prepare to head off for 37 days with my contiki group.

Advertisement



22nd July 2014

Onwards
You will have to write faster, I am waiting for the next installment.
22nd July 2014

Will try my best

Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb