Albania 2018. Day 24. Berat


Advertisement
Albania's flag
Europe » Albania » West » Berat
May 31st 2018
Published: May 31st 2018
Edit Blog Post

Albania. Day 13. Rest day or 47 km ride to Polican.

A thunderstorm passed over last night without touching us and the sun is out again today. Whilst most are riding today I am taking it easy and helping John A to strip down my bike and put it on its box ready for departure. My front wheel is buckled but should straighten ok when I get it home, and maybe other minor damage. I have a bad limp on my left leg, a bruised left shoulder, bruising on my face and a badly bashed right forefinger in a splint, otherwise I am in good health. I may need assistance to drag it out of the airport in Manchester to my taxi, otherwise it should be easy to get home on Friday. The bike was soon packed up once I had figured where all the bits went in my micro box and everyone else was busy doing the same ready for transfer to Tirana tomorrow. Helen was unfortunately chased and bitten by an old Alsatian dog this morning and luckily she had had rabies and tetanus injections before she arrived here. Why do people continue to own dangerous dogs? After lunch several of us visited the fully preserved Ottoman house up on the hillside towards the castle. It is truly amazing that this has been kept in such good condition and sympathetically restored over the past 300 years. It contained many period costumes, artisan tools and equipment and many rooms were remodelled on the period of the a Ottoman Empire. Well worth a visit. It was hot again today in the 30’s and it was nice to go back to the river where a nice cooling breeze was blowing. I had to smile this morning as the girl on reception asked how I was feeling, I said ’Perfect’, looking at all my bruises she then said, ’ Are you serious’? I then replied’ Smile and the world smiles with you,cry and you cry alone.’ She said ’Thanks for your advice’.
After a nice dinner, which included chips and veal in breadcrumbs we went on the town on Berat and had drinks at a local bar until the red wine ran out. Have you ever heard anything so ridiculous? We got back at 22.20 to find the doors locked and had to shout to get let in. Luckily John F was still awake and came to our rescue, otherwise who knows what would have happened to us all?


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Olive pressOlive press
Olive press

With hand cut screw

Pony awaiting 100kg loaf of cementPony awaiting 100kg loaf of cement
Pony awaiting 100kg loaf of cement

To be taken up narrow cobbled hill.


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb