Roosters change everything


Advertisement
Puerto Rico's flag
Central America Caribbean » Puerto Rico » Vieques
February 13th 2010
Published: February 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Night PalmsNight PalmsNight Palms

It seemed like a good night for a drink
Things are not going well. Woke up this morning to sounds on the street. They sounded the same as home. I just laid there for a long time and listened. Cars rushing by, the distant honk. Somebody on a cell phone. The only difference is the roosters. Their crowing reminds me I am a long way from home. Anyway,it took me a long time to get out of bed. I think it is because I am not sure what I am supposed to do all day. One thing for sure, I am going to have to stop drinking. I have a pain in my side but I am not sure where it came from. I remember I went to the bar around nine. It was warm and you could here the ocean lapping at the beach. I liked the way the palm trees looked against the sky. Somebody bought me a shot of tequila, then another, and another. It was a guy in a red shirt who said he liked the Dallas Cowboys. He had a small head and wore really white tennis shoes. There was an American woman. I remember her; she had big blond hair and dark lines on her face and smokers breath. At some point she was crying and said “I can’t really see myself with him…yea know?” There was an argument over Obama. Social economics or some crap. That is all I remember.
Just now I just looked in the mirror. I have a bruise on my side. Looks like somebody punched me. I am not sure this island is the place for me.
Mary’s money is running low. Pretty soon I will need to get a job.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb