DAY 1


Advertisement
Published: July 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Viejo San Juan, PR. It's a little after 10pm and I'm struggling to stay awake. The worst news of the day is that I forgot my camera's usb cable, so I can't upload any photos. I'll try to buy another one here or have mine shipped to me in Bequia. So, for now all you get are these boring "no photo" blogs.
SORRY!

I arrived in SJ about 3:30. I'm staying at a hotel called "DaHouse". When the taxi driver dropped me off I couldn't even find the front door. I asked the bartender across the alley and he said "third door" When I got to the third door it was locked. About that time a couple of girls came out the door and I asked how to get in. "You have to ring the buzzer to get in" they replied. So I was buzzed into a 4'x4' entry with a marble stairway going up. Seeing no alternative, I headed up the stairs. (wow, one of the cruise ships just blew its horn and it was really loud. I'm glad I wasn't in bed yet) where was I? Oh, yes, up the stairs. When I reached the second floor I was greeted by Pedro. I think Pedro is gay, but who am I to judge. The hotel is in an old warehouse built in the 1600's. It's totally restored. Very modern and clean in a chic way. My room is small, but comfortable.

I left the hotel at 4pm and hit the streets of Old San Juan. I got around to El Morro at ten till 5:00. El Morro is part of the US National Parks system and therefor closes at 5:00. I guess I will have to go back tomorrow. I walked and walked and walked all over Old SJ for the next 2 1/2 hours taking over 70 photos. (I'ts really too bad that I can't share them with you. I'll figure something out in the next day or two.) I asked a man to take my picture with the old fort wall in the background and a beautiful sunset, but apon looking at the photo he took I've decided that he definitely does not have a photographer's eye.
Later I asked a lady to take my picture in front of the fountain. She had one of those expensive professional looking cameras, so I was hoping she would do better than Billy Bob from South Carolina had done earlier in the day. My assumptions were correct and she knew what she was doing. I offered to return the favor since she looked to be by herself. She was a little reluctant (probably afraid to turn her high-dollar camera over to a stranger), but she overcame her doubts and struck a very "Audry in Paris" pose in front of the fountain.

Back at DaHouse, gay Pedro is no where to be found. I head up to the rooftop deck. There's a 4' by 8' plunge pool on the roof, so I go to my room and put on my swimsuit and enjoy a refreshing dip in the dark. Note to self-this looks like a good idea tomorrow after an early morning run. Yow!! (there go's the other cruise ship horn)

Dinner was at Cafe Puerto Rico. A hole in the wall place just across the Plaza Colon which is so named for the islands discoverer, Christopher Columbus, whose statue adorns the plaza. It looks like it should be Plaza Columbus to me but it must be a translation thing. My waitress is less than fluent in english, but after some menu pointing I'm finally treated to Mahi Mahi with Puerto Rican sauce with red beans and rice and fried plantains. It's followed by a roasted coconut flan with cinniman topping. I was starving, having been too busy flying and walking all over SJ to have eaten anything sinse I left Dallas at 9:30.

Well, it's now almost 11pm so I'm going to hit the pillow.

Thanks again to everyone who is following my adventure. I promise I will find a way to get photos to you in a day or two. Keep checking in with me

Good night from Viejo San Juan,
David

Advertisement



30th July 2008

Awesome!
Love the details of the First Day of your Big Adventure!!! Keep it up, I feel like I'm there with you! Safe travels! Hugs, Me

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb