Llamo Lindo Rocks!


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Chiriquí » Cerro Punta
September 18th 2009
Published: September 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Got a calling card and talked to Llamo Lindo owner Omar Lopez. Been at Llamo Lindo Hostel for 2 nights now and this place is great. 12 bucks a night, including breakfast. It's far enough away from main traffic noise, but close to Volcan conveniences. Omar is a great host and when word gets around this place will get popular. As popular as a hostel in a non-tourist town can get. Hopefully, this blog exposure will help Senor Lopez drum up some business. The place is huge, at least 8 bedrooms, some very large. One family stayed last night. Other than that it's been me and Omar. (that's him watching TV in the one video) I may just live here.

http://www.hostalllanolindo.com/en.html

Call Omar at 6514-0094 if you want a nice stay in Volcan.

There is a special treat in my shower. My friend Jim, from Bocas by the way of Sacramento, called these Suicide Shower Heads. Mine started shooting water everywhere when that little extension hose popped off (see pic below) from the water pressure, and shocked me when I tried to stop the flood. Here's how these wonderful contraptions work. You see, the water flows into the shower head where, through household electrical current, it is flash heated above your head. Let's summarize: 110 volts..... flowing water.......your wet head. What could go wrong!! It's ingenious!
Actually I've been under these a few times before with no problems. I will probably use them in my future house. But hey, it only takes one suicide. As Tenacious D says, "One is all you need".
Ezequiel the handyman had everything fixed in a flash.

Coincidentally, my little property is a quarter mille away or less. Omar's right hand man-landscaper-handyman etc. Ezequiel and I walked over to look at it. And wouldn't you know, the corner of where he (the handyman) lives touches the corner of my property. We just happened to be discussing him clearing and fencing it (as well as 2 people who understand 5% of what the other is saying can have a discussion) when we arrived. I don't think he believed I owned it, and talked a little excitedly to Omar when we returned.

Omar asked to see my papers, and after reviewing them, determined them to be legit. They realized this is one gringo who aint playing. They don't call me "Loco de Verdad" in reverential tones around here for nothing. Or is it "Gringo Idiota Calvo".

Anyway, my little lot is an overgrown mess and collection of refuse. Time to roll up my sleeves, grab a shovel, and..........shovel some dinero out of my wallet to someone else to clean and fence it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb