Life In Panama


Advertisement
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Natural Mystic



For the past 6 weeks I have been spending most of my time at a cafe called Natural Mystic. It is a Hookah Lounge/Cafe that is on the main strip in bocas del toro that serves vegeterian eats with a Turkish feel, such as Hummus, Falafel & Baba Ganoush. I met the two owners, Alex and Dave a while back before their official opening and began helping them with the finishing touches on the place. They basically built the cafe from scratch, and the outcome is pretty sweet. When they opened a couple weeks ago they almost immediately became the most talked about place in town. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, and the motto is "Good Vibes". This town is quite small, and this type of food is popular because it is hard to come by normally. In a town that thrives off of fried chicken, rice and beans, people really take advatage of being able to get some Hummus & Cocout bread.

When we finally opened things got a little hectic, but still exciting. I was able to use my experience in restaurants to give advice and suggestions. Most of what I have told them they have liked, and I even helped write the menu. Helping with this project is one of the most rewarding and coolest things I have ever done. At this point, we've been open for over two weeks, and from my observations, it appears this place is going to be a success. The idea, location, and atmosphere are all perfect for the area, and people just keep coming and coming. They can't get enough of it.

Along with my new friends at the Mystic came an entire social group of people that I have seen on a daily basis for the last weeks and developed relationships with. This town is small & packed with a variety of unique travellers and I have met so many wonderful people. I have had the opportunity to play music with some very talented musicians from Chile (I have continued building my appreciation for reggae the last couple years and Cetral America is only making me like it more). The vibe in this town is one that I will never forget. It is truely a fun & peaceful place to live, and any travellers who come here shouldn't be so quick to move on.
FunnyFunnyFunny

Me & Dave

If you come here, check out Natural Mystic...


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Water TaxiWater Taxi
Water Taxi

With some friends
Pipa FriyaPipa Friya
Pipa Friya

My new addiction
SolSol
Sol

With Monkey


13th November 2010

Mikey so glad to hear you are doing well...sounds like a great place to be.....miss you and hope to see u soon...stay safe....luv ya aunt jul
13th November 2010

Blog
What's up dude. Nice pics! You must be having a blast. I was just thinkin that Track would probably like to see your travelblog updates. You should send him the link if you haven't already. Later! Live it well, Matt
19th February 2011
Pablo

hello
hi do not know if you remember us the Argentine girls need a favor if you can give me the telephone number of Paul (the chef) tell him I'm Patricia de Necochea kisses and graciasssss

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb