Bocas Re-entry


Advertisement
Published: July 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Bocas Reintegration

-A cold shower is always a shock. It doesn't matter how hot it is- it hits me like ice being poured down my back.

-Mud. My feet will be muddy until August 7th when I get back home.
-The Ngabe coffee, never quite good enough but still mange to stay up all night after drinking it.
-The poverty. It's worse at least in some houses on popa. More boards missing, less food, roof falling apart.

-The Bocas sun- you forget how strong it is when it bounces off the water.

-The waiting.
For a boat, for a friend, to eat, to chat with a friend, for the ameobas to hit, always waiting.

-Sticker shock- to go from Isla Popa to Bocas where everything is more from hotels to food. I can spend the same amount in one day I would spend in weeks on Popa.

-The bugs. Chitra, or sandflies, are maddening. They bite and itch like crazy leaving temporary red marks. Then you wake up and the bites are gone.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.358s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb