Rainy Sunday


Advertisement
Published: February 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post


Sunday, February 27

(Skip) Awoke this morning to rain, not sure when it started during the night because both Barb and I had inserted earplugs. There are dogs, dogs and more dogs on this island (I'm sure also on the mainland) running loose and maintained in many households) and everyone understands what uncontrolled dogs do best!! By best guess it they are used for security in the homes. Anyways, this part of Panama is noted for the heavy rainfall and I must say this area's reputation is being upheld.

As I am writing this blog sitting at the kitchen table looking out the, unscreened and no glass window, there is standing water wherever I look. Unglassed windows with shutters on the outside, for this area, makes a lot of sense, because of the hot and humid weather. Heating is not required but a unhampered breeze blowing through a house is certainly a very high requirement. The sky is gray and gallons of water are being dumped; good time for writing this blog!

The cabin where we are staying is very nice, clean and quaint for two people. The interior reminds me of the old Vermont summer lakeside cabins where the interiors are unfinished and basic but pleasing to the eye. The floor, cabinets, door and window finish framing all appear to be made from mahogany which is very beautiful. We have a 6 burner propane stove and a well maintained refrigerator, plenty of cooking and eating utensils.

I'm not sure if Barb mentioned that water cannot be used for drinking, only for showers and washing dishes. Since this area is very hot consumption of water is very important, and guess what, we used the last of our bottled water for coffee and brushing our teeth. Ugg!! It's still pouring, no water, just two cans of Balboa, its 10am, I'm thirsty and it's 5pm somewhere. Actually we do have a option available to us and this is a SteriPen on loan from Barb's daughter-in-law, Clare. Clare used this water treatment device while traveling in Philippines with great success and it's now on loan to Barb. Now all we are required to do is learn how to operate this device.

News break, the rain is starting to slow down and Barb and I are going to draw straws as to who will venture out for water, Balboa (can't be caught without) and Prune Juice! Guess what, I lost and forth I will venture into the unknown, whoa, too dramatic, its just a short walk, 5minutes, and I'm safe from the rain. You know sugar will melt and this is why I'm going on this venture and Barb is staying in our little home away from home.
Well, I made it back from my little adventure and guess what, it's now pouring like hell, but I only returned a little damp, Lucky me!!

From the porch of this house to the other houses across the street is probably 20-30 feet, with about 8 feet of that being taken up by a concrete walk/road. Sitting on our porch we are able to see the Caribbean sea under the houses, obviously they are built on stilts where the raise and fall of the tides have no effect on the houses or roadway/pathway. Many of the homes are either double or triple deckers, I can only imagine the view. Yesterday, when the water taxi brought us to the island we went by a large number of both large and small sail boats anchored in the lagoon. What a beautiful sight to behold. I said to Barb, now that's my dream, and Barb's reply was, use your own money. It's still a dream!

Reflecting back on our time spent in the various area's of Panama is both interesting and confusing. The
differences between the areas we have traveled within Panama is dramatic and yet when I reflect back on my life spent in the US comparisons are superficial and yet confusing. At this point I don't believe a comparison can be made with any degree of honest success. A person's view of Panama, I believe, must be taken as to what is acceptable to the individual rather than comparing one reality to another reality. Both are unique and must stand on their own because neither are good or bad, they just are. The way of life is dramatically opposed to one another and yet neither is good or bad; better or worse; one's view really boils down to which reality feels comfortable. Enough from a philosophical point of view!

(Barb) It looks like it had stopped raining and I was getting cabin fever...so off we went for a walk looking for the beach. We found it and it was lovely...except it started to rain again so we headed back and decided what the heck...let's go for it...we kept walking looking for 'downtown'...it was about 40 min. walk in the rain...not so bad really. We wandered around the downtown area looking at the local shops and decided to have a burger and fries at an outdoor cafe... they were pretty good actually. The Hamburg is very lean here. We added ice cream to that and we had already picked up a bottle of wine and some fruit so we walked back and got back just in time for the rain to start again, I guess we are in for the night now...buenas noches folks!!


Behind a few days with pictures of when we were in Chiquri Province while we were at the Purple House. I never did get a pic of Andrea and I'm sorry I didn't.

https://picasaweb.google.com/Groveridgehome/PanamaTrip2?authkey=Gv1sRgCPmRtr_UkrWrjQE#

https://picasaweb.google.com/Groveridgehome/Panama3?authkey=Gv1sRgCJC49JSvlpeeSA#

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb