only a little stranded...


Advertisement
Published: February 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have such a terrible memory , I need to make sure I blog more. Since Santa Elena:

I went to Poas Volcano, an active volcano that is constantly emitting sulfuric gas. It was a nice afternoon trip.

I left San Jose for the last time (as far as I know) and headed to Puerto Viejo. I started with this German chick, and on the bus I met a very entertaining Tica, who gave me advice on Puerto Viejo. I also met an Irish woman, Orla, who decided to stay at Pagalu (hostel) with us. The hostel was really nice, it kind of felt too nice, like it was out of my budget, but it was $10 a night. We went to the national park outside of Puerto Viejo, it was forest that bordered the ocean, we was tons of monkeys so of course I was happy. I met tons of great people in Puerto Viejo. I'm not that impressed with the town. So many people said they loved it and stayed for weeks but I wouldn't know what to do. Basically everyone smokes spot and lays on the beach. That gets old fast. It isn't nearly as hot as I expected, I probably would have loved the turtle project. The next day a bunch of us rented bicycles and biked 13k to a different beach. It was pretty, it could have been FL. I met some awesome people from California and we had a good time in the hostel.

From Puerto Viejo Orla and I took a bus to Sixoala. We went to customs, then walked over a bridge and went to immigration. It was supposed to cost me $5 to get into Panama, it didn't. He asked to see my proof of how I will exit Panama, I told him I'm going to take a boat to Columbia and he let me through. We immediately caught a bus to one town we transferred to another bus which dropped us off in front of the water taxi. The entire process cost $8.20. It was supposed to be no less than $17 (I know I'm cheap but it made me happy). When in Bocas it was the last day of Carnival which I didn't know was going on here. I danced in the street, watched a parade and danced in a club. Yay carnival!

Today 2 German woman, 2 Portuguese men, Orla and I went to an other island to see Red Frog Beach. This one was definitely not FL. The water was perfect (except for the jellyfish but they weren't a problem). There was a great view of other islands, and a boat taxi there... unfortunately we stayed too long on the beach and missed the last water taxi back. It took almost 2 hrs for the park guard to get someone to pick us up. Here I saw tons of jellyfish. By the time we got on the boat it was dark. The ride back was BEAUTIFUL.

Orla is awesome, and coming with me to Lost and Found tomorrow. She might be interested in volunteering there too. Lost and Found doesn't have internet so it might be a while before I'm on again.

For now, goodnight.

Advertisement



19th February 2010

sounds wonderful
So glad you met someone to travel with, saw lots of monos and danced!Is Bocas a good place to snorkel. Be safe, have fun and know you are always in my thoughts and heart!
21st February 2010

ooo puerto viejo
Yea i remember puerto viejo was where i ate the best pot cookie i have ever had, then steve and i lay around in hammocks and watched the costa rica episode of south park on a tv that was in a palapa by the beach. So yea lots of pot and laziness.

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb