NEW YEAR AND A NEW COUNTRY!


Advertisement
Jamaica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Jamaica » Kingston
December 31st 2013
Published: January 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Jamaica Dec 31 2013 (3)Jamaica Dec 31 2013 (3)Jamaica Dec 31 2013 (3)

Tracks and Records, Usain Bolts Restaurant....
Slept for over 11 hours last night! AMAZING! Even though it was so hot I left the fan on all night (and feel bad for the electricity bill since I know its very expensive here).

This morning Karen made me authentic Jamaican coffee which was amazing and soon after breakfast (which thank goodness was 'normal' cereal) I was picked up by Brianna (12 yrs old, and one of my young swimmers), her mom Dianna, and brother Brandon (13yrs). They took me for lunch to a restaurant called Tracks and Records and is Usain Bolt's restaurant, and after to the Bob Marley Museum. The museum was extremely interesting and the two kids had never been so were excited to go. Unfortunately I could not convince the woman at the ticket booth that I was now a resident of Jamaica which means my entry cost $20 US instead of the $5 US for a Jamaican resident.... Maybe once I have a better tan, or say 'mon the will start to believe i'm a resident.

After the museum, we drove out of town towards the hills, and arrived at their home 30 minutes later. It is HUGE. The walk in closet and
Jamaica.Dec.31.2013(1)Jamaica.Dec.31.2013(1)Jamaica.Dec.31.2013(1)

Bolts signed singlet
master bathroom is the size of most apartments I have lived in.Everything is granite, marble or crystal including the HUGE chandelier in the grand entry. There is a large pool in the back yard, and you can see wonderful views of the surrounding area.

I am happily staying overnight (my guest room has a queen bed - a VERY exciting sight after sleeping on a single bed last night for the first time in about 10 years). We are going to ring in the new year (in about an hour) with fireworks in the yard, and Im sure will be going to bed soon after as we had a long day in the sun. But before I go...as I am reflecting on 2013, I realize that it was a very exciting year for me that included getting a new job, moving to Port Alberni, getting to live close to my family for the first time since high school (which included many home cooked dinners!), buying my puppy (and love of my life) Colby, and then deciding to accept a job and move to Jamaica to coach Synchronized swimming.... What a crazy year! I am sure 2014 will be very
Jamaica Dec 31 2013 (7)Jamaica Dec 31 2013 (7)Jamaica Dec 31 2013 (7)

The tables in the cafe are interactive! You can play games, go on the internet and even order your food! SOOOO COOL!
exciting as well here in Jamaica..... What are you most excited for in 2014? Maybe a trip to Jamaica 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Jamaica Dec 31 2013 (2)Jamaica Dec 31 2013 (2)
Jamaica Dec 31 2013 (2)

Brandon, me, and Brianna at the Bob Marley Museum
Jamaica-Dec.31.2013Jamaica-Dec.31.2013
Jamaica-Dec.31.2013

life-sized Bob Marley!


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb