"My hubcap flewed off. Did you hear it?"


Advertisement
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Get up this morning.
Turn on the shower. No water pressure. Don't slip. Ask to turn on the water pump.

Get down to breakfast. Pour myself a cup of coffee, pick up the cream container and accidently drop it all over my plate of pineapple, the table, myself and the floor. I'm too tired and hot to react. I sit there dumbfounded. I did this in front of Jeff, 2 other guests and one of the staff. I pathetically mop up the spill with a napkin. I go change my clothes. Not a drop of cream actually made it into my coffee.

Apologize to everyone that works at the guesthouse, and eat my breakfast.

Rocky takes us to work. Half way there we hear this weird noise -- I think it might be a flat tire? Rocky pulls over in a shady part of town (what part of town in Kingston ISN'T shady?). He gets out of the car, and announces "My hubcap flewed off. Did you hear it?" We say we did. He crosses the street and walks back about 50 feet to where his hubcap lies on the sidewalk. Walks back to the car, puts it in the trunk, gets back in and we continue on our way.

Get a ride with Mr. Cambell to the Children's Hospital to get trained on the computer system. Discuss plans for the weekend with the two people that work on the project there, get tips on hotels in Ocho Rios. One of the women there drives us back to work.

Work. Look at hotels for the weekend in 'Ochie' (as the locals call it). Work. Eat lunch, spicy Chicken cup o'noodles with folding fork. Work.

Leave work early because of the long day we did on Thursday. Come home. Talk with the woman that runs our guesthouse, she has been able to get a friend of hers to get us a room at an all-inclusive resort in Ocho Rios for the weekend (Sat & Sun). We just need to get bus tickets there and back on Monday morning to get into work on time. She reccomends that we walk over to the private bus company (Knutsford Express) nearby and get our tickets in person.

Keith and I walk over, wait in line, and I ask for a ticket Saturday at 6:20am. The woman without hesitation tells me they are all sold out. I ask if there are any openings -- the only one available is at 4:30pm Saturday. I tell Keith that we should leave and check online to see if they really are all sold out.

We come home, check online, 25 seats available...we make reservations.

Sigh.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb