Haiti: Feels like home!


Advertisement
Published: January 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Everything you heard about Haiti is probably not true. For one, everybody is not dirt poor and the country (at lease Port au Prince) is not crumbled. There are still buildings standing. Yes, some of the folks that lost their houses to the earthquake are still living in camps. The cholera epidemic is gone. I think you should visit, assess the situation first hand before making a judgment. If you ask me, I would tell you Haiti is just like any of the country I have visited in Latin America.

I had a good time in Haiti. In fact, Haiti just replaced Colombia as my favorite country! I travelled with four of my friends from the university and we met up with another friend that graduated from the same uni who now works in Haiti. I couchsurfed (www.couchsurg.org – if you don’t already know about the great site), our host was the best. Her family went beyond to make us feel comfortable and she lives in an interesting house. When next you find yourself in Port au Prince, Haiti – look up Poncia on couchsurf and she’ll show you a great time.

We ended up being 7 beautiful ladies in PAP and we had fun. Our friend who works in Haiti did an awesome job organizing everything. We took the party bus and bar crawledJ. The first bar we went to was my favorite, the setting was pleasant and one would write on the wall. The second bar – Press Café – I believe it’s d name was filled. Entrance fee was $10 but the music was good. Our first night we went to a live music event – RAM is the name of the place and band. The group was Awesome and the vibe was good. They play every Thursday. We also went to a youth live music concert at the French institute – another couchsufer member took us there.

My friends went to the beach for an overnight stay but I stayed over in PAP cuz am a city girl J. I hung out with Poncia and her friends. At night, we went to a house party that played just ‘house’ music throughout. The neighborhood was really cool – all the houses were mansion and gated. I look forward to going back to Haiti. This time for more than a week so I can visit other parts of the country like Cap Haitien .


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

Our party bus
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

the pastry here is great
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

Nepal, Nigeria and Haiti :)
FunFun
Fun

we rode in this all day to explore Port au Prince
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

The side of Haiti you never see
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

No comment! I didn't write this just took a picture of it
Photo 17Photo 17
Photo 17

Leaving Haiti


3rd January 2012

Awesome
I have to visit Haiti for myself someday. Looks like you had a great time. I'll be sure to look for Poncia when I go!

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb