June 10 - evening ESC


Advertisement
Published: June 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

June 10 - ESC experience

After dinner, I was on my way back to the room, when I noticed a lady sitting in one of the chairs on our 'patio' in front of room 5 (Heather and I share room 6). I stopped to say hello and soon we were in deep conversation. She is a Pediatrician who had lived in Haiti 25 years ago for a time. She is here for a marathon medical clinic over Saturday and Sunday. She had toured around the area and was feeling the same feelings as I had felt on my trips. We talked for a long time. Then she told me about seeing a young mother with a 2 year old child, who had lost part of one leg in Jacmel. The mother was quite distraught and this Dr. was determined to help this child. So, with her driver, they traveled to all the clinics, hospitals and field hospitals to try to find someplace where a prosthetic might be available for a child. She was upset but quite determined. She finally located someone who would be able to obtain one, left the money to buy it, left the woman's name, child's name. She then had the driver go back to Jacmel, find this woman, and leave the clinic's contact information. When the leg comes in, she will take the child for fitting and therapy. She said she felt as though she had made a difference to someone. I encouraged her to think she would also make a difference to many more at this weekend clinic.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb