And on to Guatamala


Advertisement
Guatemala's flag
Central America Caribbean » Guatemala
November 10th 2008
Published: November 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I love it...I love it...I love it...

what else can I say (and yes my heard did skip a few while I was star-jumping!)
Hola Todos,

The last month has been one accelerated adventure after another... Arriving in Guatemala was amazing! We had planned to find a Spanish school as soon as we got into the country and spend some serious time studying… but, of course, we managed to get a bit distracted enroute. You see, there were a few mountains on the horizon that simply had to be conquered. After a bit of research, we learned that not only was there a mountain we could climb to watch a volcano erupt in front of our eyes, but also, looming in front of us was the highest Mountain in Central America… so we immediately signed up for both and made our way to the thermal pools to celebrate.

The next day, at the crack of down we were scrambling up Santa Maria in the damp, chilly, dark, waiting for the sun to rise. Almost immediately, I started struggling. I was still on empty (literally) from a nasty little bug that seemed to make its way into my stomach in Mexico, and that with the altitude made me feel like I was trying to hike in space! I plodded one foot in front of
rostin in local hotsprings...rostin in local hotsprings...rostin in local hotsprings...

a bit touristy with the umbrellas... but definately worth it and a windy road off into the western highlands...
the other as the guide and John ambled along chatting and perpetually stopping and waiting for me to catch up, puking, and hyperventilating… not a pretty sight!

But, with the determination of the ring (yep - that’s where I was pulling my mental game from) I slowly but surely made my way up, finding some interesting critters on the way and being stunned by the clouds we were well above. And, as one can well imagine, the eruption and final view were well worth the peril. Once at the top we hovered for warmth and awaited the hourly eruption. Satisfactorily awed, we made out way down - surprisingly and frustratingly easy compared to the trek up…

Of course, the preparation was essential, as the following day we rose at the crack of dawn, yet again, and made our way to the trail for Tacamolco, the highest peak in Central America. Luckily, with the “climb high, sleep low” tactical from the previous days trek, I managed to have a slight advantage, but it wore thin again as we reached the base camp at about 3000 feet. I was vomiting the last stretch to the point I broke off from
Me...Me...Me...

and a large volcano erupting behind me!!!!
the group and had one of the Guatemalans run his bag to the top and come back for mine. I did manage to get to the top, blacking out only once or twice, but was spent and rested all evening, with the exception of a small climb to see the sunset (again, going for climb high and sleep low), though I almost didn’t make that one… It was a steep incline and a push to the top and I was dizzy and stumbling enough that an Israeli guy abandoned the natural climbing pace and climbed behind me, stabilizing me every time I started to tilt. We did make it to the top and sat there for a good long while, acclimatizing and taking in the view…. And then, despite the horror of my new Israeli buddy, I went on a photo spurt and even managed to attempt a handstand… though after the black and starts that immediately clouded my vision, I opted for a little less exertion, a wise choice considering I was so dizzy coming down, the Israeli had to hold my hand and catch my misguided lunges. But, I guess that’s what good friends are for!

The
crazy local fruitcrazy local fruitcrazy local fruit

... I think!
next morning we managed to hike up for the sunrise (yep, a painful 3:00am depart….) but well worth, and then toured the crater and made our way back to the town, where we sadly departed for our next destination… School!



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

local grublocal grub
local grub

... hmmm, maybe this is why I got sick...
Mezcal...Mezcal...
Mezcal...

the new local brew... 15 pesos for a reused glass coke bottle full... yep, we took advantage, and regretted it!
another colonial townanother colonial town
another colonial town

but sitll beautiful
braving the scalding waterbraving the scalding water
braving the scalding water

and scalding it was... there was a line of pain as you got closer to the falls... and perpetual steam - but sooo relaxing
At the top...At the top...
At the top...

with two of the Iraeli´s standing behind me as they were affraid I would fall... altitude sickness had me crazy dizzy earlier in the day...
Still managed a handstand...Still managed a handstand...
Still managed a handstand...

though I still don´t know how!
The next hike...The next hike...
The next hike...

to Santa Maria... to see the active volcano... okay, so I am a bit distracted!
above the clouds...above the clouds...
above the clouds...

still hiking & still fighting the altitude!
and the clouds chase us upwards...and the clouds chase us upwards...
and the clouds chase us upwards...

as we hike above the clouds, we watch as they rise...
the volcano...the volcano...
the volcano...

before erruption...
volcano...volcano...
volcano...

errupting!!!
the volcano...the volcano...
the volcano...

full erruption!
chicken bus!chicken bus!
chicken bus!

Yep old canadian and american buses painted like crazy!
locals carrying woodlocals carrying wood
locals carrying wood

(look at the lil guy following his dad - incredible!)
another local...another local...
another local...

but not as nice... or perhaps I am just judgemental!
kazue jam session.,,kazue jam session.,,
kazue jam session.,,

at the top of the mountain... ¿por que? ... ¿Por que no?


Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb