Traveling Eastward from Xela


Advertisement

Buenas Dias Todos! I am writing to you from Lago Atitlan, one of the world´s most beautiful lakes. I have taken many photos, but the pictures do not do justice for the scenery. I completed my final week at PLQ on July 7th, and I have been traveling for the last 10 days with Alfonso.

I have much to update you all on my travel blog- after the mountain school I took a week off and did a 6 day trek through the Cuchumatanes Mountains (north of Xela in the Ixil Triangle). The trek was one of the most physically demanding challenges that I have faced. We were walking through regions that literally had no roads, and only the trails that we were walking on were the passages through the local towns.

When I was in college, I took a class called ¨World Health Problems¨ with my profesor Donna Nielsen. One of the books we studied from was ¨Where There is no Doctor.¨ On the cover it shows a group of men carrying someone that needed medical attention on a stretcher made from wood and fabric. The men are wading through a river that is up to their chests. I kept being reminded of the book while we were on the trek. I was in a region that is literally isolated from the rest of the country. I could not hear airplanes, helicopters, or cars. People travel on foot or by horse to other villages. We passed through many farmlands- I saw fields of corn, potatoes, carrots, and onions. We also passed by pigs, sheep, goats, cows, and horses grazing in the farmlands.

Life here is very difficult but simple and uncomplicated. People tend to their farmlands and animals, and live off of their livestock and agriculture. Often, only the children communicated to us in spanish, whereas the middle-aged and older population spoke in their own dialects (The Ixil speaking dialects).

The Ixil Region that we were hiking in was greatly affected by Guatemala´s civil war during the years of 1960-1996. There were many massacres from the army that took place here, and also the Guerrilla effort had evolved in this region. I am currently reading a book called ¨Guatemala Never Again¨ which is a investigational report written by the catholic church based on the war. In another blog, I will discuss more what happened in Guatemala´s civil war. Basically, the army had chosen this area to demolish the Mayan population because of the isolation of this area.

After my 4 day trek, I returned back to Xela for my final week of classes. Alfonso arrived from Guatemala on Tuesday, so he spent 4 days in Xela while I was in class. Needless to say, I have been very happy to have him back at my side.

Alas, my time here in Guatemala is soon coming to a close. I have two weeks of travelling left- we will be meeting our friend Brandy in Guatemala City on Thursday, and then we plan on going to Antigua, up the Rio Dulce to Livingston, crossing over to Belize, and then finally heading back into Guatemala to Tikal.

Until next time!

Sorry for the lack of photos, I have put my photo CD´s in storage so that they would not get lost or ruined during my travels. I will try to upload my newer photos to the internet, so I can them with you all.

Advertisement



24th July 2006

hooray!
Hey Beck, I'm glad to hear you're doing well. I think your hike sounded awesome.. I wish I could do that someday. Love, Crystal
25th July 2006

Here at 6 south
Hi Becky, I'm at work, just read your blog. Sounds amazing and kind-of scary! I have that book, so I can picture what you are talking about. You are a brave and adventerous woman! I miss having you next door and at work. Can't wait for you to get back! Enjoy the rest of your trip. You are in my thoughts and prayers! ~Katie :)

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb