Guatemala from the Road


Advertisement
Published: March 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Left Hotel Dos Lunas at 6am to catch the bus to Quetzaltenango. In the Guide, this is marked as leaving town at 6am, in the leaflet for Linea Dorado it says it leaves at 8am, but it actually left at 7am, which I will take as a warning to call the bus station before any long distance journey. Victor, the driver from Hotel Dos Lunas, took me to the bus station via McDonalds which is the breakfast provided in the Hotel Dos Lunas Xela package, meaning that my first meal in Guatemala was a McMuffin.

I enjoyed the bus journey, as once again I got to sit by the window. Guatemala is by no means a flat country, and when the view wasn´t blocked by the dusty side of a valley, think trees or crowded houses, I could see valleys within valleys, liberally scattered with corrugated iron roofs and divided (in areas that aren´t covered in trees) into small rectangular plots of land called milpas, each farmed by a family. In the more rural areas, about two thirds of women wear the corte, or woven, wrap-around skirt, with some also wearing the traditional tops as well. Of those not wearing this, many were still wearing a plain coloured calf-length skirt, which is a bit of a compromise.

The bus made one planned stop for everyone to get some refreshment, and one unplanned stop for the drivers to fix a problem with the wheel, and we reached Quetaltenango at around midday. I got a taxi to Hostal Don Diego, where I will be staying for the week.

Advertisement



4th March 2013

Now I can picture it
Do keep this up if you can. I really like the way you describe the countryside and people.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb