Xela and such


Advertisement
Published: June 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hola from Xela,

Much has been going on in these last couple of weeks. I am now into week 4 of my time here in Xela. The spanish is improving each day, (or two or three days- depending on my progress) but I am finally seeing some improvements. I sometimes wake up in the middle of the night, and I feel like my mind is in overdrive- sorting out all of these new words and phrases. I think this is the most active my mind has been since I was a new RN (4 years ago).

I find myself thinking more in spanish, and sometimes I catch myself making grammatical errors in my typing (when I am typing in english). Often times, I get so overwhelmed and I cannot think of a word in spanish or in english. This is usually at the end of my 5 hr lesson with my teacher.

I can understand 95% most of what my instructor is saying, but I still need quite a bit of work with speaking. Today, my teacher and I spent most of the time speaking, and just a little bit of time going over grammar and verbs.

On Sunday, I am leaving Xela for 2 weeks for the mountain school. I will be in a more remote area of Guatemala, so I will not be able to check my email as often.

After returning from the mountain school, I have another 2 weeks of school in Xela, and then I will travel for 3.5 weeks with Alfonso and Brandy. I am looking forward to the break from school, and I am looking forward to exploring Guatemala and Belize.

Thank you for your comments and prayers,

Becky


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Vegetables in ZunilVegetables in Zunil
Vegetables in Zunil

We came to Zunil and saw all of these local farmers loading up their trucks with vegetables. They were preparing to sell their goods at local markets.
Materials for weavingMaterials for weaving
Materials for weaving

We visited a local women´s cooperative for weaving. They support themselves by weaving products and selling their products through the cooperative. Many of these women are widowers from the civil war, and this is one of the means they have to support themselves.
Calla LilyCalla Lily
Calla Lily

One of my favorite flowers. I saw it in Parque Central last Sunday


11th June 2006

hola mi amiga
Just wanted to say hi. I hope all is well with you. good luck on your ventures up in the mountains..... aloha

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb