First & Last Impressions


Advertisement
Published: March 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe it's my last day in Xela!! I have been here for three weeks, it doesn't seem possible. I had my last Spanish class today, and a test over everything I've learned. I got a certificate for completing my classes... too cute. Afterwords, I went for a celebratory beer and taco with my teacher and others from the school. I'm going to miss this place, and so many people here. It really has felt like home for a while... But, I'm also so excited to go and travel!! I leave tomorrow for Antigua, then I'm meeting up with some chicas from my school in Guatemala City, where we will travel on to Tikal, Rio Dulce and Livingston. After that, I think I'm on my own and off to the Bay Islands in Honduras, but only time will tell. For now, for my last day in Xela, I want to make sure to record a few things I never want to forget....

Conversations with Christian, about music, movies, culture, politics in Guatemala and in the States, the dreaded reelection of he who shall remain nameless (i've had this conversation with several people here, everyone wants to know...why?!)

Similar conversations with my awesome roommate, Esther, and our Guatemalan family.... The adorable abuelo, who chuckles at me through a toothless grin and cloudy eyes with his brown, pilled winter cap. We have been sitting next to each other every morning for three weeks, for a breakfast consisting of something similar to baby food with corn flakes mixed in... Big lunches every day, but never enough vegetables, and frijoles, huevos and tortillas every night!

The little boy yelling "Gringa!!" as I walked up the street to my house... Discovering that the place nearby, with 20 or so huge sinks filled with women washing clothes, exists because these women, these families, don't have water. Discovering also, that the field of trash next to my family's house is actually the front yard and that the buildings behind it are not abandoned, but people's homes... The poverty here, and the contrasts in the different ways of life, are astounding. The Indigenas in their brightly colored huipiles, babies strapped to their backs or baskets balanced on their heads....

The dogs, everywhere. The saddest dog I've ever seen, who crossed my path twice in one day. Dolly, the family dog, who may or may not be rabid, but so sweet and in dire need of attention nonetheless. The dog that may have been a hyena by the house... the barking every night, as though they're surrounding the house. The roosters waking us every morning, and the chickens througout. The monkeys and hippos in town for the circus this weekend... the borrachos passed out on the street. The celebration of the church's anniversary and the procession we witnessed....

The kids from the school proyecto. Visiting their houses with food and to help with homework and playing with the kids.... My digital camera and sunglasses were the biggest hits! Everybody wanted pictures taken because they could see themselves right afterwords. So sweet Heidi and Estvan, the hyper, little Ray Charles look-alike. They are so happy, even though they have virtually nothing. It's amazing. Maria, teaching me how to weave... We were almost the same height with her standing and me on my knees!

My last day of school and the attempt at rock-climbing. Coffee with Esther and saying goodbye to her, to Heidi, to Nora, Marvin, Ansel, Yens, and Christian.... Yes, I will definitely miss this place. But time moves on and so am I, and tomorrow, Antigua! Hasta luego for now everyone... Love and hugs to all!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0823s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb