Natural Saunas, Black Madonas and Booze


Advertisement
Published: December 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So yesterday (Tuesday) I took a trip to Los Vahos, a natural sauna just out side of town. We took a 10 minute buss ride to the cut off road. Then we hiked up a dirt road for about 30 minutes through beautiful flower fields. As I have said before Guatemala is a country of volcanoes. So this is a volcanic sulferic steam that is realeased through the earth. They funnel the steam into these small stone rooms that feel/look almost like a smal tourture chamber. It was way to steamy to snap a photo of the steam room but I got some great shots of the sceenery en route as well as the outside of the steram rooms and some of the property.
Later that night I went to a fund raiser at club for a shelter that house women and children escaping physical and sexual abuse. It was fun, drank a bunch of mojitos and danced for a few hours.
I ´ve having trouble uploading the photos to this blog so I will add on yet another activity. Today (Thursday) I went back to the town of Salcaja for a little walk about. We visited an old church where I saw a "Black Madona". We also visited someones house where we saw a traditional weaving loom and drank some local booze.
THe first picture you will see is of Loyola my ver awesome spanish teacher!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Door to the churchDoor to the church
Door to the church

You can see the Moorish influence in the design of this door. I saw simular ones in parts of Mali (West Africa) where the Spnanish Moores came through the Sahrah to spread Mulimism


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb