Happy Halloween


Advertisement
Published: October 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Another week has already passed, and tomorrow is November.

This week was a really fun week at Caras Alegres. Tuesday was the graduation of the preschoolers and the women who had been studying for 6th grade. We had a ceremony, and all the graduates received diplomas. It was really powerful to see these women accept their certificates with huge smiles. The women from the literacy course also received certificates. Caras Alegres is really having an impact on this community, and I'm so thankful to be a small part of it. We also made kites and costumes this week with the kids. Then yesterday, we had the fiesta de cumpleanos, kite competition, and costume competition. It was really fun, and the kites actually flew which was a surprise to me.

In Nuevos Horizantes, I am still enjoying just getting to know the girls and playing with the kids. There's one family of three orphaned sisters. The two oldest girls are teenagers, and the youngest is probably 9 or 10. My heart breaks for these girls. Their lives have been so unstable. While we were playing Bingo Thursday, I was sitting by Maria, the youngest, and realized that she didn't know
Krissia y yoKrissia y yoKrissia y yo

at Andrea's birthday party
the numbers that were being called out. This is a problem in the shelter as kids are relocated several times, taken in and out of school, and not able to attend school sometimes waiting for news from court/school enrollment. The instability and constant flow of women and children is the hardest part of the work in the shelter. Sometimes I will come to the shelter after 3 days and a family will have left. It is really hard for me to know that I will likely never see them again. Then, there are constantly new women and kids to learn the names of and get to know. I have to reminds myself of God's promises to be near to his people: "for I know the one in whom I have put my trust, and I am sure that he is able to guard until that day what I have entrusted to him" (2 Tim 1:12)

Other news of this week is that baby Nirma is at home. It was so great to receive this call from Barnabe this week. Hopefully, I will be able to go visit them in the next 2 weeks. Please keep praying for the health
fall in Guatemala :)fall in Guatemala :)fall in Guatemala :)

out in the country by Gris's house
of this little one!

This week is holiday in Guatemala, and there is no Caras Alegres Monday or Tuesday. I am off to Gris's house for a few days for some time away from the city!

Love and prayers from Guatemala!

Advertisement



4th November 2010

Love and miss you Steffi. so proud of the work you are doing at Caras, you are so loving and compassionate. God's blessings to you and everyone at Caras!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb