The Open Air Markets


Advertisement
Published: June 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, I had my first trip to one of the markets here. It was awesome! There's streets and streets of heaping piles of fresh fruit and vegetables, shirts, belts, almost everything. I went back into a maze-like building, where this woman was selling fresh blue tortillas (tortillas negras), which were extremely delicious.

I also checked out a mall to look at cell phones, but I didn't buy one yet. I'm not even sure if I need one, what with Skype. I'll post pics of the market later.

I enrolled in a Spanish school this afternoon as well. I start on Monday, but they are letting me stay with a family over the weekend. The woman's name is Norma, and she has 3 kids (8, 5, and 15). The two littlest kids took me out to get a razor and shampoo. It was a bit odd, cause they know the city way better than I do, so they were guiding me.

I have room out back with its own bathroom, so it is really nice, especially for here. We're about to eat, so i'll post more and pics later!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb