Zunil


Advertisement
Published: February 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

As an activity with the school, we went to the village of Zunil today. It is about a 30 minute bus ride away from Xela. We visited a market with the biggest vegetables I have ever seen. Could have fed the whole family with one carrot. Amazing.

We also visited a beautiful church with an altar made of silver, a cooperative where women sell the articles they have woven (very beautiful) and the weirdest shrine to a "saint" called San Simon. The story behind the saint is interesting, at least the one we got from the teacher (there seem to be many story about how that saint came about). He said that it was a God that Guatelmateco used to pray to and they changed him into a saint when the Spanish came since it was the only thing (saint) that people could pray to. Well, the representation is some kind of "mannequin", seated and dress to resemble Micheal Jackson (I kid you not!). I got "le fou rire" and I got out of there before anyone felt insulted.

I got a volunteer job teaching English in a small village every Tuesday. Can't wait to start. More to come.

Still loving the city, its people, the classes and the apartment. My only problem is that I now speak 3 languages badly. Can't seem to find words in the appropriate language. Hopefully, I will get better

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb