In Sickness and in Health - Update


Advertisement
Published: October 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I added updated information below this first blog....

Wednesday, Oct. 24
I thought I should update everyone on why Drew is doing such a fantastic job with the 'in sickness' part of our vows. If you remember reading the blog about our almost-trip to Tikal that ended up in Guatemala City at the Dr., this is somewhat of an extension, though nowhere near as traumatic. Since that trip to the Dr. at the end of July, I haven't gotten nearly as sick, but I've had many many days where I've woken up and just felt bad, and the symptoms were almost always a bit different. I just figured that my body was still getting used to the environment and food. Well, 2 weekends ago, the sickness began to drag out over a few days and I was having pretty bad stomach pains and cramps, so I finally went to the Dr. It turns out that a lot of those days where I wasn't feeling good were most likely related.
The Dr. did some tests and found that I had amoebas, bacteria and fungus all having a party in my stomach. So, he gave me really strong medicine to take for 10 days. I was feeling much better until Sunday when Drew and I went with some friends to a nearby town and I got sick on the busride home, and then again about 5 hours later. Soo... away we went to a different clinic (the best in Xela) this past Monday morning. We went to a private hospital this time where they gave me an IV for dehydration and and they did numerous blood tests. My pancreas and other major organs are fine, and it seems that the medicine from last week was too strong for the condition of my stomach so it started reacting negatively. So now I have new medicine to help heal my stomach. I will be on this, and a strict diet of no fats for a month. (If you have ideas of foods with no fat, let me know...we've eaten a lot of chicken, plain potatoes and rice in the last coupe of days 😊
They are running another test right now that will determine if all the amoebas, bacteria and fungus have been taken care of, and we'll find out today if I need to start on another medication ro continue fighting those, or if they are gone.
All that to say, I would love your prayers. Being sick so much is taking a toll on my morale and my body. Although it is nice to finally know what is going on it is still a bit hard to wonder if I'm gong to feel good or bad the next morning.
Please pray for the medicine to do it's work and for healing.
Thanks and Blessings,
Sarah


Thursday, October 25
Drew and I went to the Dr. yesterday and found out that all the tests have come back clean! No more amoebas or anything. Praise the Lord! Also, I don't have to be on as strict of a diet as I orginally thought. I'm able to eat like normal. Thanks for your prayers, and please pray that my body would be able to resist sickness as we finish out our time here in Guatemala.
Thanks!
Sarah

Advertisement



25th October 2007

yuck
Oh Sarah, I am so sorry to hear this! Thankfully you have an idea of what is going on now. I will pray for you and your total health! Good job, Drew, for being a marvelous husband to my dear friend. Chin up, pretty bird!!
25th October 2007

Sorry you are sick!
Hey Sarah, I'm so sorry to hear you have been sick so much! That kind of thing sometimes goes along with cross-cultural experiences, but it's not fun. I feel for you! Love, your Neighbor
25th October 2007

Hi you guys. Sarah, I'm definitely praying for you...no more amodba parties. And I'm not sure about food with no fat, but for food without calories, just eat cold stuff - calories are a measure of energy which is really heat, so cold stuff should have less calories than warm stuff. So eat lots of ice cream.
25th October 2007

Praise the Lord
I am so glad that you are better. I was really worried. I love you and miss you
29th October 2007

Love to you
Dear Sarah and Drew, I really enjoy getting your photos and descriptions of your adventure. (Thanks so very much for sharing your journey.) I am very grateful that your medical tests have come back normal Sarah! Know that God is looking after you. Both of you are so loved. Joan
31st October 2007

wow...you are so strong. I can't imagine how hard it has been to stay positive while feeling so lousy for so long. If I was still there we could celebrate the good news with a mellow trip to the hot springs. My best wishes to both of you.
9th November 2007

Fascinating
I just discovered this site an hour ago, and have now read it from beginning to end. This took longer than it should have because I felt compelled to constantly stop and repent for the incredible envy within me. You two are an inspiration to me, and I hope we meet again in the not-so-distant future :)

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb