Clinic Day 6


Advertisement
Published: February 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

This morning I woke up before my alarm and even though I wanted to go back to sleep for a few more hours I managed to drag my butt out of bed to take a shower, which ended up being my first cold shower here in Guatemala. I was definitely awake after that shower! I headed down early to eat breakfast and soon after we headed to our very last clinic day! I can’t believe it’s almost over! I was very surprised but we actually didn’t have a lot of patients today so we got to hang out with the kids most of the day. One of the volunteer’s was not feeling good so I spent most of my free time with her, one of the little girls I met yesterday remembered me so she came and sat on my lap while I was with the sick volunteer. Later on in the afternoon the little girl and I went for a walk down the road; she showed me the school she goes too, and pointed out some other places. She was so cute! As we were walking back she saw her mom so she said goodbye to me and went to join her mom. The supervisor for the Kakchiquel to Spanish interpreters who was there doing the evaluations was a little ways behind the girl and I so when the little girl left, the supervisor and I begin talking a little bit. I learned a tiny bit about Kakchiquel which was really cool! And as soon as we got back to the clinic site we had to do our case presentations. After our case presentations we had some more patients; our last patient for the day was a mother and her daughter. The daughter had a cold, and the mother was 31 weeks and 1 day pregnant. We got to do a urine test, as well as do a physical exam. Everything was perfect with her test and measurements and we got to hear the babies heartbeat and feel its head!!! Perfect way to end our clinic days! It’s super cheesy but it was such an emotional moment to be able to hear the baby’s heartbeat fluttering away through the stethoscope. Once we got done with the last patients we took pictures at the clinic site and had to say goodbye to the interpreters. After one last group photo we loaded up the equipment and headed back to hotel. We did a little shopping and then went out for dinner. Can you guess where we went to eat? If you said, “the pupusa restaurant,” you would be correct. I couldn’t help it! They are so good! I definitely had a case of the eyes-bigger-than-stomach syndrome because I ended up ordering 4 pupusas… I should have taken the hint that it was too much when the owner asked if there was another person coming. My friend and I couldn’t help but burst out laughing when he said that. No, no one else was coming, I was just really hungry. While my friend enjoyed her soup I savoured my pupusas, even though I only ate two haha. Once back at the hotel I did some repacking and then I knew I had to take a nap. When I woke up it was already 10pm. Little did I know everyone else had already left to go out; I knew for sure I wasn’t going to stay in on our last night in Panajachel so I got ready and headed up the street to find the rest of the group –there was only one street they could be on so I know it wasn’t going to be hard to find them. I found everyone at Panarock just where I’d suspected they’d be and I ducked inside to hang out for a few minutes. After everyone else grabbed a couple drinks we all headed to the karaoke place again, but tonight they weren’t doing karaoke so wasn’t that fun. Everyone grabbed a drink there and then we headed over to the dancing place I’ve wanted to go to since we got here! I can say that besides our clinic days and meeting all the people, dancing was one of the highlights! I had such a blast dancing until 1am when the bar finally closed. Making our way back to the hotel some of the guys decide that they want to go smoke their Cuban that they bought down by the lake. Mainly because they were drunk and I was completely sober and worried they were going to make a stupid decision and end up drowning in the lake. We were a group of probably 8 that went down to the lake; we didn’t do much except sit on the edge of this rock wall that overlooked the water. It was so quiet and peaceful; it was truly blissful. I ended up heading back to the hotel early, overly tired and ready to go to sleep! I can’t believe tomorrow we are leaving Panajachel and spending our very last night here in Guatemala! The time flew by so quickly!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb