Robbed!


Advertisement
Published: February 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yes, fair reader you read that correctly, although I debated whether to title it silly gooses. The good news is that nothing of real value was taken, and we still have our sense of fun and adenture, and we are still having fun. (after kicking ourselves for our lapse.) What happened was that yesterday was a travel day, we did 2 taxi s, 3 buses and one airplane, and one tuc tuc. The first bus was out of Guat. City and it was a nice bus, not a "chicken bus." We had turned down a taxi and private bus for the experience of traveling with the locals. Well we got on this bus and the ticket taker, conductor graciously showed us to our seats like we were important guests. He was so friendly and nice. The bus was empty at this point. I didn t wear my camera because of my penchant for travel sickness in buses so I put it in my purple bag, and had it right by me. The ticket guy said I had to put it in the luggage rack, and Harold had a green carry on bag he had to put up, too. Well, I almost grabbed my camera out of it, but thought, it will be safe up there, because I m right here, and Harold too. Well, the bus got full and there were people coming through selling things, and people making speeches, and all kinds of coming and going and we didn t watch carefully enough. When we got off, my camera was not in my bag, and Harold had a wooden carving stolen. The good news is that most of the time H and I take the same pictures. It seems silly but we often stand side by side and photograph the same thing, so his pictures are safe. So we got off pretty easy, our things that are a hassle to lose we had safe. As a precaution H has taken his card out of his camera and keeps it safe and is using a second one, so we don t lose all the pictures. The other good news is that I have a back up camera which is also a nice machine and so I ve already taken some outstanding pics of the lake surrounded by volcanoes. It s a film camera, though, so we ll have to wait until we get back to enjoy the pics. take care everyone !

Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb