Semuc Champey


Advertisement
Published: June 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After El Remate, we took the bus to Semuc Champey. We stayed at a place not too far from the river, and spent the evening lathering on insect repellent and playing cards with a Swiss couple and a guy from Quebec, listening to the rain and the Red Hot Chili Peppers ad the power went out about every five minutes. The next morning has to have been one of my favorite parts of the trip so far. Nathaniel (the Canadian), Pat and I started walking down to where the pools (natural limestone turquoise pools and falls), but on the way we got an offer to join in on a tour of the caves in the area. So we hopped on the boat up the river, swung a few times on the rope swing into the river, then put on some old sopping shoes that they made everyone wear. After the Chaltun experience and the giant spider, I was a bit weary of exploring more caves, but I slapped on some old sneakers that I could barely squish my feet into, grabbed a candle, and headed into the cave with just my swimsuit on. The opening was up a hill above a small waterfall, and right away we stepped in and began swimming in the dark with our candles and the headlamp of our guide. Rock formations around us, the sound of a waterfall ahead and bats above us, it was surreal. And I actually ended up in the front, right behind the guide, climbing up ladders over cave waterfalls, squeezing through crevices, and jumping into dark waters. IT WAS SO COOL! I'm tempted to go back to Semuc just to go in the caves again. Wow! After about 2 hours in the cave, we made our way out, grabbed some innertubes and floated down the river back to where the boat had picked us up (stopping along the way to jump off the bridge). From there we got a ride to the pools, hiked about 45 minutes straigh up hill (my legs have never worked so hard as on this trip) to have a full view of the turquoise pools and falls. To cool down after the hike we went into the clear waters, where I spent most of my time watching numerous little fish nibble at my feet. It tickled, but I couldnĀ“t get enough of it!


Advertisement



17th June 2008

Thanks for Stephanie and her blogs reports
Stephanie, Grandmom and I are fascinated and amazed at your penchant for Guatamela travel. We are very proud of you. We brag alot about you. However, we do worry somewhat and have concern about your safety as you travel. Not to many years ago there was a revolution in Guatamala and the government was replaced. ( I don't recall the details.) Our concern is that you might wander or travel into areas that are still frequented by revolutionaries or malcontents against the present government and it migh not be a safe place for you to be. Do a search on this for your own info and background on this. We

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0632s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb