Recovery days in Guatemala City


Advertisement
Published: January 16th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I had finally started to feel well enough again so booked a bus up to Guatemala. The journey back up was a real luxury, with big leather reclining seats, air conditioning, films shown on various screens on the bus and drinks and meal service throughout. It made the journey back up to Guatemala very easy. I arrived just after dark in zone 10, an area which is known to be one of the safest areas in Guatemala City. I walked for about 10 minutes to get back to the hotel, although it didn’t really feel so safe. After arriving at the hotel, I asked the hotel security and reception staff if it was ok to go for a walk in the area, both which responded that it wasn’t advised or recommended.
The next day I decided to venture out to visit the historic centre. I took the local bus up towards the north of the city until zone 1 and then walked for another 20 minutes to get to the main square. On the way there was some really nice architecture, with old colonial Spanish style buildings. Despite being one of the safer areas, again it didn’t feel so safe with
B75279E3-DA08-46C3-86B5-A36F44B33751.B75279E3-DA08-46C3-86B5-A36F44B33751.B75279E3-DA08-46C3-86B5-A36F44B33751.

Building in the main square
armed guards guarding most buildings. It was a sign that I should remain vigilant and be careful. I visited the main square, where there were some grand buildings and some shops, and visited the nearby markets before returning to the hotel. The next day I had planned to walk around zones 9 and 10, but instead opted to relax in the hotel before catching my flight to Mexico. The following day I left Guatemala for Mexico. The flight to Mexico was fairly smooth and I arrived in Oaxaca at around 11pm, checked in to my hostel and slept.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb