Day 1: Arriving in Guatemala


Advertisement
Published: July 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

HorchataHorchataHorchata

Horchata (and Jess) at San Martin
I arrived in Guatemala early morning, and Jess (my sister) took me to San Martín bakery for lunch. I had delicious Horchata for lunch (a rice milk/cinnamon drink-see picture), and we bought bean bread for a snack later. Refried black beans are incredibly popular in Guatemala, and they are SO good! After lunch, we walked to where a woman was selling tortillas. They were unique to any I have ever had- smaller like the corn tortillas from Mexico but thicker and more the consistency of flour tortillas I later found out they were made from a mix called maseca. We got a huge stack for Q4, or about 50 cents!

Cultural Notes:

-They speak VERY fast here

-People greet you with "Buenos días" here, but they also say it as you are leaving, which confused me at San Martín

-Pipes in Central America are small, so you cannot throw toilet paper in the toilet. Instead, there is a receptacle/basket.

-In Guatemala, each person has their own tax code. They give it when checking out, and then have to keep ALL of their receipts in order to do taxes. We say "CF"because we are just visitors and do not have a code.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb