Guatemala city in July - no men - advice?


Advertisement
Published: February 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi,

I'm a woman. I'm planning to go to Guetalama in July with my son (14) and no men. A woman friend of mine who travels A LOT (like to remote places in Africa and central America) said she was most afraid after landing in Guatemala City - about 100 taxi cab drivers came up to her, she didn't understand the money, etc. But that once she arrived in Xela, she felt fine and safe.

Questions I have are: How safe have women felt (and been) traveling alone landing at the GC airport?

When I look at th epictures, I see mostly men and couples.

I'd feel fine alone, but if you are a parent, you know that I am thinking also of my son's safety. Or at least his sense of safety.

If you have tips of what to do when you land, how to get through that and get where you are going more easily, I'd appreciate the tips.

Then, once we are in Antigua or Xela, my guess is that things will feel fine.

I've traveled in Mexico quite a bit, but not with my son. Also, I do have funtional Spanish.

Thank you!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb