Tjingtao beer and hungry cockroaches.


Advertisement
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Guatamala-Ciudad, 29 marzo 1990.
Hard to believe I found a chinese restaurant in this part of the world, but I did eating a huge portion of Bami Pagang with Pork and local vegetables.
They even have chinese Tjingtao beer though I've a strong suspicion that the already opened bottle of lukewarm Tjingtao beer they served me actually contains El Gallo, the local brew in Guatamala.
They charge me double the price for this "luxery" but the Tjingtao I drank in Thailand last year had a very different taste.
The other thing they have in this chinese joint is a huge cockroach population, they hover around at the other side of my table waiting axciously for me to finish my bami so they can attack the left overs. They run around on the restaurant's dirt caked floor like they own the place deftly avoiding the waiter's shoe-clad feet, feeding on spilled pieces of sticky rice.
At least my diet has got a change from the ever present tortillas, frijoles and habaneros.
My day of hiking the sierra around Chiquimula yesterday was great and I returned to Chiquimula dead tired, ravenously hungry and with a layer of red dust caked on my clothes but, nonetheless, in a happy mood.
Retiring to my little non-bathroom, non-electricity room early in the evening for a well deserved night of sleep and not being very surprised that the 19 year old hijita, daughter of the hospitaje owner, came once again to my room to try to collect another 5 quetzales in exchange for sexual services.
The little bitch has serious intentions to start a carreer as a professional prostitute I guess.
This time I didn't even bother to open the door despite her insistent whispering and soft knocking on my door.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb