Out and about Antigua


Advertisement
Published: July 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wow! What a night that was, getting up was a chore. Leaving the others to sleep past noon, I grabbed my wee muchilla, pack in my camera, water bottle and bottle of painkillers and snuck out of the dorm. Not that I had to sneak out. Couldn't get those guys up even if I had a bucket of water. At one point Sy said something about getting off the boat as I closed the door behind me. I'm always the first up. A cold shower helps.

So my mission for the day was first a stop at Condesa's wicked coffee bar for a strong brew with lots of milk, and a few Panadol. A great cup of coffee right at the Parque Central. Then I tracked down the street vendor, usually damas with their weaved basket brimming with the tastiest baked goods. Pan de coco, or pan de chocolat, love the deserts. Ate my goodie in the park while watching people mill about the lovely lady fountain built in 1738.
"Designed in 1739 by Miguel Porras, one of the city's renowned colonial architects, the Fuente de las Sirenas (Fountain of the Sirens) is one of many gracing Antigua's principal
Street goodiesStreet goodiesStreet goodies

So yummy!!!
plazas and courtyards. These fountains were more than just ornamental. Although piped water reached important buildings and dwellings in the seventeenth century, fountains served as water supplies for humble dwellings, even into the present century"
I finished my coffee as the sun beamed on my face. I love the sun on my face it is a replensiher of energy. I am a solar panel.

So pulled out my camera and started taking random shots of people, doors, door knockers, buildings, details, detail, details. the whole city is a canvas of details. It's like a treasure hunt. I probably took over a hundred photos. And just when i had the perfect photo of a young boy meticulously polishing the well worn boots of a machine gun toting, cigar smoking, mustached policia, my batteries dies. Murphy's law: always carry spares. But the moment was ephemeral and past like a leaf in the wind.

"...the city boasts of over 30 churches, 18 convents and monasteries, 15 hermitages, 10 chapels, the University of San Carlos, five hospitals, an orphanage, fountains and parks..."

Enjoy the photos cause I loved taking them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb