Eran rios en las calles!


Advertisement
Published: June 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Los rios necesite cruzarLos rios necesite cruzarLos rios necesite cruzar

The rivers I needed to cross to get home! There is nothing like floods to walk home in!
6/27/06

There were rivers in the streets!!!!!!!! Seriously! Literal rivers flowing through the streets. Can I tell you how ¨fun¨that can be? I don't think you can truly understand such a thing without experiencing it. On top of that, today after all that storms, the entire city was without water for over 4 hours. I guess it happens somewhat frequently after storms. It was interesting to say the least. Sometimes it feels like I'm in the middle of a Seinfeld episode, several in fact!

I volunteered yesterday afternoon at Nuestras Ahijados, helping kids read in the library after school. There are so many volunteers there that I really don't think I'm making a huge difference , but at least I'm doing something with kids. Then in that torrential downpour, another volunteer, Michael, and I went to take the free salsa lesson at the Chimenea. We were soaked and payed 10 quetzales (about $1.25) to take a tuk tuk (sp?) to the place instead of swimming through the streets. It felt like we were in a tiny boat with the wake we were leaving.........it was hilarious. I'm definitely learning to be more patient. You don't really have much of a
Tuk tukTuk tukTuk tuk

These are mini cabs that drive all over Antigua. I took one of these while the rivers were flowing. I think they´re from Asia.
choice and afterall, it's good for your health, right?

The salsa lesson was virtually the same as the one at my school last thursday. Since I didn't really learn anything new, I decided to sign up for a private lesson tomorrow at 2pm. I figure when else can I have a private hour salsa lesson for $10. And the teachers here were born salsa-ing. I'm excited! Tomorrow, I have my test which really doesn't mean anything other than it will motivate me to study a lot tonight. Wish me luck!

6/2806

First thing this morning, I took my test. I did pretty good. Definitely not bilingual, but much better than I started. And tomorrow is my last day of classes! I can't believe it's been 3 weeks. Friday is a national holiday, something similar to Army Day, I think so the school is closed. So, Henry, Abby and Lindsey and I are going to hike Pacaya, an active volcano and yes, mom, it's safe! I've seen amazing pictures and I can't wait to go!

After school today, was my private salsa lesson and let me tell you, I used to think I had rhythm. Now I
Salsa DancingSalsa DancingSalsa Dancing

Here's a photo of me and my teacher!
know that I have two left feet. It was fun, and funny because with the music on and with how fast he was talking, I had a hard time understanding his spanish. Regardless, having some 5 ft nothing, skinny Guatemalan spin me around was AWESOME! Hopefully, I'll retain some of what I've learned.

A few friends came to meet me to watch the last few minutes and then we headed to Parque Central to buy tickets for our friday hike up the volcano. After that, we walked around, took pictures of some ruins and shopped a bit. I wish I had more than a backpack to bring things home in.

Tonight after dinner, there is a movie at school and then there is a group going out as it is a couple of the students last night in Antigua. It seems customary that everyone goes out on a student's last night to wish him or her luck on the rest of his/her travels. It's a nice tradition.


My time traveling is over half over and I can't believe how fast time has flown. Antigua definitely feels like home in so many ways. I am so accustomed
Ruins of La MercedRuins of La MercedRuins of La Merced

There have been multiple earthquakes in Antigua- one of the reasons Antigua is no longer the capital of Guatemala.
to life here and at the same time and dying to see Adam and travel to even more places. After all, the best part about experiencing something is sharing it with those you love and I can't wait to spend a week without work or distractions exploring together! Add a beach to that and I'm in heaven. Help me in wishing for better weather for when Adam's here! Miss you all! Hasta el proximo vez!! (Until the next time!!!)


Advertisement



29th June 2006

SOUNDS GREAT
HI THERE: you sound like you are enjoying every minute even with all the rain. Glad you did well on the test and the salsa lessons you look great. It is also raining non stop all over around here. Can't believe three weeks are almost over. Stay dry and watch out for the volcanos. love and best always, elayne and les
29th June 2006

You salsa swimming goddess...
I had to put it all together in the title. Well, I love you and thank you for sharing all of your adventures while there. Enjoy the last couple of days on your own...CJ PS - can't wait to see all the pictures!!!
30th June 2006

Your salsa lessons sound fun! I've been watching (and have to admit that I'm hooked) the show on FOX that's a dancing competition...you would like it:) They did some different types of dancing that I'd never heard of last night...some African-inspired dance where they jerked all around and threw their hands (and the girl's skirt!) around in the air. Very fun! Glad you are enjoying your self. Keep sending updates about all your fun travels!

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb