Letting go of the safety bars


Advertisement
Published: April 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Chicken BusChicken BusChicken Bus

Way to go!
Remember when you were about 5 years old and all the older kids were going down the really tall, winding slide? Maybe you really wanted to go but you were afraid? You finally worked up the courage to climb all top. You looked down, and it seemed a lot further than you thought. You were holding on tight to the safety bars. You wanted to let go. But you didn't want to let go.

That's how I feel. After ruminating for 6 months about what to do with my life, I decided to climb that ladder and go back to Antigua, Guatemala to live with a family and learn spanish. It will be a different trip than my visit to check it out in January. I'll be living with the people and actually trying to learn a new language. The other goals of the trip are to be rooted in my relationship with Christ, and decide if I am ready leave the Bay Area, ever. And if so, do I want to do volunteer work, and if so, where and how? Maybe even teach english somewhere.....The world is out there for me to explore, do I have the guts to let go of the safety bars?

The air fare is purchased. The school reservations are made. In two weeks, I let go of the safety bars.....Wheeeeeeeeeeee!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb