On the road again....


Advertisement
Published: January 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

“On the road again, just can’t wait to get on the road again…!!!!”


And so I once again begin a new journey and continue my blogs from where I left off.

I cant believe that my stay in London is now over. My original intention was to stay in the UK and find myself a job till April but as it turned out - The Universe had other plans, as did the financial markets and my ability to seek a somewhat decent job in the current environment.

So with that in mind - I decided to continue along the path of unemployment, destinations (somewhat) unknown (a very big first for me!) and a world of new possibilities. Hence, why I now find myself packing boxes and saying my goodbyes. Central America here I come!

*******
I left London for Madrid at 8am yesterday in what could have only been described as a whirlwind of frenzy. Subsisting on nothing more than two hours sleep - I spent the early hours of the morning finalising my travel insurance; screaming at my credit card provider to figure our why my replacement card had STILL NOT arrived in the post, some 20 days after I had requested a new one - And to then figure out how to get me a new one in Guatemala; packing my boxes to ship back home to my mum’s house for storage (No. Not that many boxes this time around Mum - I promise!); Re-configuring my laptop after a virus attack (after a very stupid attempt on my part to use limewire. Sigh!); Saying my final goodbyes and…..Of course, re-packing my backpack (for the third time!!).

I’m exhausted just thinking about it, let alone writing it all down….

As it turned out - I didn’t end up booking my New York shuttle bus and paid heavily for the privilege of riding a dilapidated old bus to Manhattan only to catch another cab to take me to Harlem (where my hostel was located).

Also another travesty - Is that my back pack is just TOO BLOODY HEAVY!!! Why. Oh why, can I not learn to travel light? I have only just begun my 7 month trip and I am already trying to figure out what I can unload - I haven’t even gone shopping yet!! Aaarrgghhh!!!

Connecting…Connecting….Connecting


I almost missed my connecting flight to New York….Oopps. Not a great start to my adventures.

How can one describe Madrid Barajas Airport? A steel & glass maze perhaps? Or a complex rabit waren designed to get someone lost, confused and somewhat agitated in their search to find their luggage and the closest exit - Yes! This description is far more appropriate.

It was off the plane, walk 20 minutes, up a lift, down a lift, on a train…..And this just to get clear customs. Finding my bag involved walking up and down a variety of halls, asking numerous staff which hall (which was received with a confused stare and a response of "go to that information booth over there") before I eventually made it out. Then it was sprint to departures, up a lift, down a lift, on a train once again to clear immigration, leaving me a mere 2 mintues spare to board my flight!

I eventually reached my destination and as payback to my earlier mishaps - was the second person in the queue for customs.Yeay! My bag came out first and I was cleared through without a hiccup. Before I knew it, I was well on my way to Manhattan and to my hostel.

I was exhausted. I had high hopes of dumping my bags and doing a quick dash to the shops before they closed - but this was certainly not going to be an eventuality. Instead I unloaded my backpack in my dorm room, checked my emails, booked my shuttle bus and settled myself in for a good nights rest.

I am somewhat scared about the road ahead. This will be a first foray into solo traveling (ie not on tour) and I am both aprehensive and excited. Emotionally drained & tired from leaving London; the receipt of the dreaded email request for the big ‘D’ and anxiety for what lay ahead - I cried myself to sleep…….

Tomorrow will be a new day and the start to something different…




Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb