Wow, I´ve arrived!!


Advertisement
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,
Just to let you know that I arrived yesterday after 15 hours of travelling! After getting into my hotel room room at 10pm I had a really good nights sleep and woke up to beautiful sun shine and 3 volcanoes!!
At 9am with the two project managers (Doreen, guatemalan and Rachel, english)and another volunteer who arrived yesterday too we had breakfast at "la cocina" which consisted of a porridge type mixture called "mosh" which tasted like very sweet porridge, this was then followed by a traditional breakfast of scrambled eggs with tomatoes and onion with queso (cheese). fried sweet bananas and bean curd with crusty bread all washed down with 2 cups of cafe.
We then had an orientation around the city of Antigua (an old colonial town) about half hour away from Guatemala city. All of the streets are cobbled and there is a very laid back vibe about the place.
Then off to meet my host family who I will be staying with for the next 10 weeks. Their names are Angela and Duilio, they seem really nice but I haven't really spoken much yet due to the fact that my spanish is quite limited! Interestingly
Streets of AntiguaStreets of AntiguaStreets of Antigua

At 7.30am on the way to Spanish School.
though I can understand most of what is being said, I just don't have the knowledge yet to be able to converse, bring on spanish school which incidentally starts tomorrow morning at 8am for 4 hours a day for the next two weeks, in the afternoon I will be going to the school on the local bus about half hour away.
The day starts pretty early here with breakfast at 6.30am and getting on the bus for school at 7.15am to start teaching around 8.30am.
This afternoon I met some of the other volunteers and chatted with them about the projects. It all sounds really interesting and I can't wait to get started. For the rest of this afternoon though I'm going to wander around Antigua to try and familiarise myself with the area and then it's off out with the other volunteers for some dinner later.
That's pretty much all for now, will be in touch soon.
Lots of love
Sal x



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb