Celebrations and Good-byes


Advertisement
Published: December 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

A long (but good) couple of days. Did construction all day yesterday and Vacation Bible School this afternoon and then some more construction. Had an Ash Wednesday service yesterday evening.

Quiet nights.

A celebration with the local congregation (El Shaddai) tonight, replete with traditional dancing and gifts for all.

One of my favorites, Oscar, a thirteen-year-old who is very responsible and helpful, gave me my gift and said some nice things to me. He is the sweetest. And the families I met with while distributing food thanked me again, gave me more hugs, and so on. I didn’t really know what to say--partly because what do you say?, and also partly because of the language barrier—but I was grateful to them for their outpouring of love and glad that our contribution mattered to them.

Mayan ruins in the morning. ¡Muy impresionante!

Hard leaving the house tonight. Had to say goodbye to some cool muchachos—Jaime, Giovanni, etc.--and leave the house not fully finished (though close!). Before we left, Garrett suggested I pray for the family together... in Spanish. I did. Wasn’t the best Spanish work I’ve done, but I think it fit the bill...
More construction workMore construction workMore construction work

Making progress!
if they understood any of it...

Mostly I talked about us being unified in one God, with Christ, brothers, sisters, family... Eso es una idea que yo creo mucho... Entonces, yo sentio bien sobre este....

Más... ¿hay más? Siempre. Pero no hay la energia...

I will miss these moments and this community. I feel stronger than ever the need to unite with others in Christ, to serve, to love. I hope I can continue to do so in the future... One day left here...


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

ConstructionConstruction
Construction

Mixing cement
Going away partyGoing away party
Going away party

Before we left, the community (kids included) put on a show of some of their traditional dances and other fun things they'd prepared for us.


Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb