Last Long Layover..


Advertisement
Published: April 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So all good things come to an end..and my time abroad is coming to that.

I am spending 8 hours on a layover in San Salvador in El Salvador..not too much fun as the city is too far..and the beach too...so a day of reading...and eating. I spend tonight in Toronto.and am home for the Easter weekend!

The past week was really hard. Totally bittersweet as my host family is crazy and I went from sharing a room with the little brother and sister to sharing with 6 more family members from Tegicugalpa, another city in Honduras. Needless to stay I look forward to not sharing a single bed with a random family member..or eating solely fried chicken or rice beans and tortillas..lol

The sunshine..kids..and coworkers were really hard to leave. I am a sun baby..and am convinced that my dad has mexican roots or something cuz I think its unnatural to enjoy the sun this much. Its strange how all the Hondurians despise the sunshine tho, any chance they get for air conditioning or shade they will take it. Its bizarre.

Leaving the centres broke my heart in half...but to be expected. Also leaving the people who had supported me...taught me bits of spanish...translated for me...and put up with my ever questioning...what does that mean...?? was rough. I am bad at goodbyes!

But with one good thing ending I really look forward to coming home and seeing everyone..and for more then 2 seconds..

Thanks for the comments and what not.. You dont know how much support of family and friends helps after a long plane ride...a frustrating lack of knowledge of language...or even a great day at the beach. Until I see you..

Much Love,
Whitney

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb